Thanksgiving!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
November 28th 2010
Published: November 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thanksgiving!



Thanksgiving is an American national holiday on the fourth Thursday of November, and its basically when families come together and give thanks to each other! So when Thursday came around millions of USA citizens cooked up a feast 😊 (well according to the TV 92%!o(MISSING)f Americans would be eating Turkey..!) We decided to have our feast on Saturday, giving us Thursday to chillax and have some free time! We let each dog group out for an hour or so, ½ the time spent in the yard, and the rest in the house. Now when dogs come into the house it is a mission simply trying to watch them! Most of them need virtually staring at to ensure they don’t pee or worse on the carpets! So I spent a good part of my day stalking huskies around the house! When the Klaus, Oken and Journey group were in the house and I sat on the sofa watching them, when I suddenly slipped into a random daydream. Now daydreaming is a weird state, my mind was elsewhere but part of my subconscious was still in the room…that small part saw Oken cock his leg over the foot
CREAM CHEESE BALLS!CREAM CHEESE BALLS!CREAM CHEESE BALLS!

mmmmmmmmmmmmm
stool and VERY quickly alerted my whole brain to the fact that a dog was about to pee on my foot! “NOOOOOOOOOO” I growled, scaring the poor thing to death! Linda yanked him outside and we cleaned up the little pee he probably did while I was screaming like a banshee. Apart from that the day went smoothly! In the evening we put plastic over the lounges windows. This needs to be done or else the house gets like a freezer come proper wintertime. It involves a ‘window kit’ including double sided sticky tape and v.thin clear plastic sheets. Tape outlines window, sheet goes over tape…simple..no. The sticky tape was a damn nightmare! Its really hard to stick it straight! And the plastic has to be put on without creases…no easy feat! After fighting with all this, Linda then blow-dried the plastic and this makes it tighten up like a drum! So now the house is toasty warm 😊

On Friday we prepared for the feast coming up! Linda’s Grandma gave her this awesome recipe of cream cheese-balls. Now I imagined doughy cheese-y balls kind of pizza hut style- wrong- they were cream cheese mixed with strawberry jello ‘dust’ and then frozen. After a couple of hours you then roll them in the remainder of the strawberry jello stuff and there you get cheese balls! And they were AMAZING! Real real sweet but dang tasty 😊 The dogs sure enjoyed liking the remnants off my hands! In the morning we went shopping and I bought Betty Crockers French vanilla ‘cake in a box’ and Betty Crockers Vanilla frosting (I was truly outraged that frosting doesn’t come in the cake box!! What an utter sneaking rip-off!) Now the cake smelt gooood cooking, the frosting smelt gooood in its tub. Neither tasted good after cooking! They had a really weird chemical taste! Well, I should’ve been warned when I offered Zodiac my hands to like the cake mixture off and he sniffed it, scrunched up his snozz then walked away! Not even a taste! Oh well, I will still eat it :P In the evening we let Tuloon and Sweet-pea into the house and as sweet-pea went over the ‘threshold’ she let out an almighty scream and came running into the kitchen! I ran over to her to find blood trailing from her front paw! Turns out she ‘declawed’ herself but catching her paw on the door! Poor puppy! I hugged her and held her paw while Linda wrapped it up. Apparently this isn’t that rare, Journey did it once and didn’t act like anything had happened! I sure as hell know that if I ripped a nail out I would scream like a baby for a week, refusing to move! Dogs are strong little things! We have a suspicion that Sweetie did it on purpose so that she could become a house dog for a few weeks! Clever little wotsit :P

This morning we cooked the turkey, and what a turkey it was. A beautiful 15 pounder..mmm….the smell was AMAZING! I proudly made the mash and gravy- my speciality 😊 Around 1pm Haileys parents and paternal grandparents came around and we devoured the food! Ahh it was so tasty 😊 Now there were two VERY American dishes we had and they were good! One was Sweet potatoes, with Apples, marshmallows and glazed cherries. The other was green bean casserole with crunchy French onions on top- also tasty! Haileys family are Norwegian descent and bought with them Lefse- potatoes crepe thingys, also quite nice! But boy I felt full at
Beautiful Journey!Beautiful Journey!Beautiful Journey!

Daisy looks identical to her!
around 4 o’clock. Almost 3 hours of eating! (not the whole time….but after the meal I picked at cream cheese balls and fudge for ages!). Her family then left around 5ish and Linda and I went to feed the dogs. All I can say is that I wont be eating until noon tomorrow!

Ahh forgot to mention. Journey ( shown in pics!) has a sister called Daisy who lives with a friend of Lindas called Lydia in New Hampshire. Daisy is megger-preggers with 7/8 puppies! And she kind of went into labour yesterday but her waters didn’t break until this morning. At around 11am she had her first pup and grey female, then at around 2 ish her second a grey boy and finally a third by 3 also a grey female. She literllay just had another girl and boy and we are anxiously waiting for the rest! Linda is going to get two of the pups the weekend after I leave 😞 no fun!! Its probably a good thing though as I just luuurrve puppys and don’t seem to have the ability to say no to them! So when they bite me its cute, when they start piercing my skin with there razor sharp teeth I just go awww! So I de-train them! I practically runined Wimzi when I came over in April :P






Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Lily origami!Lily origami!
Lily origami!

I folded the napkins into lilys to make them pretty :)
Disaster cakeDisaster cake
Disaster cake

One layer fell apart when I tried to take it out of the tin :(


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb