Scrambling as always


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
March 8th 2006
Published: March 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Allow me to start out by recommending Sanfaustino natural mineral water...lightly effervescent. And they're not kidding! Currently my favorite quick and tastey source of calcium. I don't always have access to good milk on the road or a way to keep it nice and cold, but these handsome 1 liter bottles are a great way to go, and available at Whole Foods.

Forgive me, I must've been channeling the ghost of consumer present. Anyway, I'm barely a week and a half into this 2 month journey, so much has happened and to tell you the truth the details are already beginning to become a big bloody mess. Perhaps it's because it's 2:36 AM, and I barely got my turn on the computer...I dunno. Anyway, I'll try and rehash some of the goodies that have already happened and match them up with some pictures soon, but for now it'd be easier if I focus on the present. Unfortunately for you, today was our first lackluster experience at a school in Rockford, Illinoise. Not only was it painfully obvious that these children had no concept of what it means to be an audience, but our appearance was so ill-planned by the staff that we were cut off by the end-of-day bell! So as the back half of the auditorium is loading out, Sarah and I are moment to moment editing the show, cutting out and paraphrasing lines in hopes of finishing in a reasonable time. It just sucks because the kids were enjoying themselves and didn't get to ask us questions after the show, which usually seems to bring the experience home for them. Never mind that we looked like MORONS. Ay caramba!

What I'd like to impress upon you, the reader, is that this tour is more than just a job. It's an opportunity for us to touch and perhaps impact the audiences of the future. Many of these kids have never seen theatre, and here we're sucking them right in. If we're affecting them half as much as they're affected us, we're in goooood shape.

Looking ahead, the rest of this week is looking GREAT because we're only performing our Mozart piece (twice Wednesday, twice Thursday, and once Friday), which has no heavy set to put up and yet is a sweaty workout. Seriously, I expect to lose 5 pounds by Saturday, just in time to take Chicago by storm for the first time in my life! Mmmm yes, Chi-town. We get paid friday, in time to maybe eat some good food, watch a show downtown and enjoy a glass of wine.

I love and miss all of you following along my adventure, and you'd better believe you're out here with me, reminding me that no matter how hard or satisfying the road gets, I have the most wonderful things of all waiting for me back at home.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb