And so it begins (or almost...)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
February 3rd 2009
Published: February 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

3.Feb.2009

新年快乐!Happy New Year!

In a matter of hours, I will embark on an adventure that is sure to be filled with stories upon stories. I will spend the next five months and twenty days studying abroad in Beijing China.

Since Macalester’s winter break was extremely long this year (I have been on break for nearly 55 days, but not too many complaints!) I have had a bit of chance to reflect on this past semester and think about where my future is headed. I want to take a moment and share with you some of the special highlights of this past fall and thoughts on what lies ahead.

1) Junior year has been all about change. Even as life continues to throw out one thing after another, my mind and feet keep moving on. Thankfully, I have amazing friends to keep me grounded. Apart from thinking about China, my head has been consumed with reflecting on my interests and creating a plan for now and the future. I had a fantastic opportunity this semester to intern and explore my interest in immigration law. It was a large relief to know that this interest wasn't some made-up thing in my head and it was something that I really would love to learn more about. Hopefully, this semester abroad will open up further interests and allow me to evaluate where I want to be this summer, in the next year and beyond.

2) Following my summer as a Chuck Green Civic Engagement Fellow, the official kick-off of my mentorship program began. Catalyst Foundation’s “Anh Chi Em” Mentorship program has connected over 50 Vietnamese-American college students/young working professionals with over 50 adopted Vietnamese youth between the ages of ten to seventeen. This network spans from coast to coast and both mentors and mentees have been receptive to the program. I am very proud of the people I get to work with and the amazing mentors who put their time and energy into making a difference in the lives of these kids. It is truly a blessing to see the smile on a child’s face when they know someone cares and is listening to them or when they are encouraged to accomplish what they thought was impossible. At the end of December, a group of mentors and mentees got together at Vertical Endeavors in Saint Paul to go rock-climbing.
ACE Mentors and MenteesACE Mentors and MenteesACE Mentors and Mentees

Catalyst Foundation "Anh Chi Em" Mentorship Program
It was a test of confidence, endurance and teamwork. By the end of it, the kids (and mentors!) came away with some great memories.

3) Something that holds a special place in my heart is the International Student Program office at Macalester or as we fondly call it the ISP Lair. Though I won't miss doing taxes for Mac's 230-something international students, I will miss the pow-wows, the laughter and the random tidbits I learn about the world each day. Working in ISP has definitely prepared me for this great adventure as I'll know "exactly" what to expect as an international student..... Perhaps, all the discussions on culture, internationalism, and intercultural communication will pay off too. 😉

So I'm ready for something new and can't wait to get started! Leaving the familiar for the unknown is not easy, but all the more exciting. Wherever you are in the world, be safe, be happy and enjoy!






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



5th February 2009

lol~read. Good Luck~!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb