Countdown to Italy


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Willmar
October 11th 2011
Published: October 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Italy 2011

This is the plan. Who knows if 1/2 of this will actually happen. =)

I'm starting this blog partly because my family might have a panic attack worrying about me while I'm in Italy, and partly because (as many can attest to) I have a memory loss issue, and I would like to capture some memories, photos, and friendships I find along my journey.

Today is Tuesday, one week from departure.

Planning that my procrastinating-self has done so far;

Renewed my passport.
It didn't expire until May, but while doing some lengthy research, I found that Italy travel (as well as many other foreign countries) requires a passport valid no less than 6 months beyond your planned travel time. I wonder if Amanda Knox's passport was still valid?

A not-so-definite packing list.
I am trying to keep to the bare essentials on this trip, as I don't want to lug around luggage from city to city (is that where they get that word?).
The only things I am bringing besides a few changes of clothing are; a small amount of makeup, essential toiletries, a lock (for hostel lockers), good walking shoes, an umbrella (rainy season), $ and identification. Oh, and a travel clothesline so I can wash my clothes in the sink and hang them up to dry while I sleep.
Aaaand this trusty iPad so y'all can read up on my daily activities. I've read that wi-fi is a bit dodgy in Italy, so if I don't get something posted everyday, that's why. Or I'm just having too much fun. 😊

Couchsurfing.
I was a little hesitant to tell you about this, as Andrea thinks I'm going to die while meeting up with someone from this website..... But here goes. If you don't already know, Couchsurfing is a website lilke facebook, only for travelers. It's a place where people go to meet up with locals in the area they are traveling, grab a drink, they will show you around and give you tips on great places, and sometimes these people 'host' travelers. We are staying in hotels and hostels and castles throughout this trip, so don't freak out on me for that last bit. 😉 I have contacted a few locals in some of the towns we plan on visiting, and they have been very helpful in finding good lodging, points of interest, and finding things that the average tourist doesn't get to experience.

Travel Mate
I decided to take this trip about a month ago. I planned on going solo, until I found out an old classmate of mine was planning on going the same time as me. We got together and coordinated our dates, and as soon as I got the go-ahead from Dave (my boss), the tickets were booked!

Friends of Friends
If there's one thing I've learned in this business.... "It's not what you know, it's who you know.".
Lindsey Gjerde (my travel companion) has a friend who's brother-in-law lives/works at a castle in Perugia. He works on an active olive farm, and he has been so kind as to open his home to us and show us around for a few days. I am most excited about this part of the trip!
I won't go into details, as I don't want to get ahead of myself. When I was a little kid my family went on a cruise. I was so excited about writing in my journal and telling about my adventures, that I decided to write about how fun it was to swim with the dolphins in the Bahamas-- before I actually did it. Lo and behold... storms prevented us from stopping at the island that day and the dolphin adventure was canceled. Still showed that sucker to my class when we got back, though!

Enough for now. First stop- Rome. Ciao!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb