End of camp!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Minneapolis
August 22nd 2014
Published: August 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

The last two weeks gave been crazy busy! Our last full week at camp was amazing, I had the oldest girl cabin (aged 12-14) and it was awesome! Our overnight camp was at this island in the middle of lake independence so we had to canoe out there. It was beautiful and had an amazing view of the sunset and sunrise.



This was our final week of camp and it was a sampler week which means it runs from Sunday to Wednesday. I has the youngest girls (aged 7-9) and it was full on. I helped at the horse barn and it was awesome! I wish I had a chance to do that more this summer. Each week we have a closing campfire where all the kids and counsellors put a friendship stick into a small bonfire and say something about the week and to thank people, we also sing songs. This week it was very emotional being the last closing campfire! On Wednesday night all of staff went to the local bar for a beer and dinner and Thursday was spent cleaning camp etc. It was very hard saying goodbye to everyone as they all left on Thursday. I am so glad I did camp America, I was very doubtful my first few days here that I could do it and there were some very tough times but looking back on it, I thoroughly enjoyed it and learnt so much. I've made some amazing lifelong friends and I plan on meeting up with them as many of them are travelling abroad to study in Spain, UK and Morocco. One friend is going to San Francisco on the 5th of September so we plan on catching up on the 7th and doing Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge together.



I leave to go to Chicago on Sunday with Kris for two days and I am staying with Hannah until then. Today we went to the Minnesota state fair and it was crazy! Literally any food you can think of they have, and it is deep fried and comes on a stick. I tried some cheesecake dipped in chocolate and it was good but too sweet and just too much. We also bought a bucket of chocolate chip cookies to share and you get 4 dozen cookies in it. American food is ridiculous. I miss fresh produce like we have in New Zealand! It's just not the same here.



Tomorrow Hannah and I are going to hike a bluff by her house and then get a pedi because our feet are yuck from camp. Sunday morning I'm going out for breakfast with Hannah, Andrea, olivia and kris before they take us to the bus stop for Chicago! I'm nervous but excited to leave. It is has been the best but toughest summer of my life and I have such an appreciation for the outdoors now and camping. I never thought I would have enjoyed camp this much! Still miss everyone from home so much but have so many great stories to share when I get home 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



23rd August 2014
Leaving my mark

Leaving my mark
You have certainly left your mark!! Remember "Looo" when you were 2!! These photo's are all simply stunning and what an experience. Was emotional just reading your last camp blog! xxx

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 3; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb