All Creatures of Our God and King


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Minneapolis
April 15th 2012
Published: April 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I recently attended a concert that was held in Central Lutheran Church of Minneapolis. The concert itself was marvelous, incorporating the powerful voices of a brass quintet, the emotional response of the 80-member choir, and the triumphant swells of the pipe organ. As soon as I walked in, though, I was overcome by the simple significance of the fact that the concert was being held in a church. Half of the pieces in the program included the words 'God', 'Lord', or 'King'. As the concert progressed, I surveyed the audience of hundreds. Some were listening with their eyes closed, some with half-smiles, some nodding in rhythm to the piece. Out of habit, I scanned the back of the room for the omnipresent government officials sitting in to make sure that nothing was threatening the State.

There were none.

And, at that moment, I realized I had truly come home. There I was, sitting in the pew of a church, enjoying a concert of both religious and secular material, with absolutely no fear of repurcussion or guilt by association. It was the acknowledged realization of the Freedom of Religion we enjoy in this country, a freedom that so many still
The Definition of FreedomThe Definition of FreedomThe Definition of Freedom

According to Vice President Hubert Humphrey
take for granted.

Freedom of Religion in the People's Republic of China is provided for in China's constitution, with an important caveat: namely, the government protects what it calls "normal religious activity", defined as activities which take place within government-sanctioned religious organizations and registered places of worship. Unregistered religious groups face varying degrees of harrassment, imprisonment, torture, and forced religious conversion. In recent years, the Chinese government has relaxed its oversight of religious activities on the mainland somewhat; however, crackdowns once again ensued following the Arab Spring in 2011. The State is threatened by any type of activity or organization that encourages congregation of large groups of people for a shared goal or motive.

Bearing that in mind, I very carefully navigated the murky waters of religious observance during the four years I lived in China. I was hesitant to talk about my faith with anyone outside of my immediate circle, for fear of being accused of prosthelytizing. My luggage was often searched when reentering China after a trip to the United States; anyone with more than one Bible in their luggage could be subject to interrogation. (It should be noted, however, that the American movies and TV
Organ at United Methodist ChurchOrgan at United Methodist ChurchOrgan at United Methodist Church

Minneapolis, Minnesota
shows I brought back to the US were never subject to such scrutiny).

All of these thoughts and memories were running through my mind as I listened to the concert. As the last piece in the program was announced, I wondered whether anyone else sitting in the audience that night was looking around as I was and marveling at our freedom to attend a concert in a church. Was anyone else grateful for the opportunity to enjoy religious music and not worry about the later repurcussions? Did anyone think about our brothers and sisters who were still being repressed in other parts of the world (not just in China)? Had anyone else lived abroad and been forever changed by the realization of the incalcuable blessings we have every day we live in the United States?

I think the sad response to the majority of my questions was 'no'.

I returned my attention to the conductor, who was inviting the audience to stand and join the choir in singing "All the Creatures of my God and King". As the magnificent organ swelled, the trumpets blared, and hundreds of people began to sing together, the hair rose on the back of my neck. I had goosebumps. My eyes filled with tears of gratitude. For all its faults, its struggles, and partisanship, the regal principles of the United States still stand. We still enjoy the freedoms our forefathers wished for us. The United States is still the most blessed country on the face of the Earth.

Let's all remember that.

Advertisement



15th April 2012

Inspiring observations
It really would be interesting to know what other people were thinking and feeling at your wonderful concert. But, I guess that the houghts that people had were private thoughts. Just think though how that concert inspired people to enjoy the life that is all around them and helped them see the joy in their lives. I will bet that many felt lucky to be there just as you did.have a good week! Love, Aunt Tudy
15th April 2012

My son does not appreciate the U.S. and takes our freedoms for granted...
so after college he moved to Asia where he teaches English until he goes to law school. I'm hoping that he finds out that life isn't so free elsewhere. In May 2009 I took my Mom, sister, and son to China where my parents were missionaries from 1947-1949. I took her to Minxian where they lived. The city was totally changed. And we attended the church in Shanghai which she had attended. The church was the same other than the congregation was all international as Chinese were prohibited from attending. I hope you have time to read my blogs about our trip.

Tot: 0.335s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 74; dbt: 0.173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb