Sanderson Sister's (SS) Black Friday (BF) Road Trip! Predictions...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Minneapolis
November 22nd 2011
Published: November 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

SSSSSS

SS
Yes, it is finally almost American Thanksgiving. Time for the 3rd annual SS BF shopping weekend. Each year I get all my Christmas shopping done in this one weekend. Expecting the same this year. Since we’ve been a few times we are almost professionals. Shelly Lou (SL) is nervous to be the feature in the blog! Can’t blame her, usually I focus most of my blog efforts on Ed. Seems no one wants to be a part of my blog (you’re next Mylee!)...

I guess I can see why. Travelling seems to bring out the nasty. Not in me, but others.For example, last week I went up to Sioux Lookout.I’m sitting in the airport here waiting for the flight. It’s 7:30am. I’m sitting quietly, looking forward to the 40 minute nap. The woman who is about 4 seats away from me is chewing her cud. I seriously can’t figure out what else would make that sound. I don’t see any food. 10 minutes later, I can still hear something and saliva .And you know I feel about being able to hear chewing.





Behind her, about 3 rows away, is a woman and her boyfriend. He is standing up to leave. She says “call me everyday.I love you”. He stands and talks a bit more. She says “call me everyday.I love you”. Repeat, repeat. Cud. Barf. It’s way too early for this stuff. Everyone just sit and drink a coffee, silently. Really – what is in that woman’s mouth? The boyfriend leaves. The plane is late. Half an hour passes. The boyfriend comes back! Kissing. “I missed you. Do you want this granola bar? Should I save it? Are you sure you don’t want a granola bar?” Followed by about 6 reasons of why a person might want to have a granola bar. Pulls out a chocolate bar. Repeat. More chewing. Gun to head.





Things I am not allowed to buy on BF: boots, handbags, pyjamas, socks, maybe no makeup, for sure no bath products.No running tops, no Christmas stuff (unless there happens to be a cool purple tree, or maybe blue. OK, only one tree) and no black shoes. For sure no black shoes. Or no black heels. And must stick to the budget.





Here are my trip predictions. And yes, I have the nicest sister. Everyone knows that SL is the sweet one. And the smart one. And the cute one. I know that too. But she’s also the weird one. Here’s what will happen: She will come to pick me up, we are taking her truck. She will get out of the driver’s seat and move into the passenger seat. For the entire weekend. It’s like she is a professional passenger. She will have that seat set up like it’s movie night in a lazy boy. First, off come the shoes. Out of her bag she will pull a pair of travel socks. Usually fuzzy and in some electric colour. The feet now go on the dash. There will be a pillow. Full size pillow. Ipod, fully stocked with Pat Benatar and other ‘classics’ (aka nothing from the 2000’s). Gum. Lip gloss. Kleenex. Coffee. Water. Snacks (she mentioned something about finding Easter chocolate in the back of a closet???). Little note book. Passport. Blackberry. Knitting. That zone will be fully set up for a comfortable and relaxing ride. And I will drive.





These are my other predictions.Things that SL will say more than 3 times on the trip:

You said you weren’t going to buy any black shoes

Oh sorry, I wasn’t watching the signs

Tru dat (don’t even ask)

What?We’re here already?I still have my travel socks on!

Yes, you have to wear the pyjamas all night

Don’t you dare put that in your blog

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb