Key in Hand, Back Home!


Advertisement
Published: May 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The end of the vacation was much better than yesterday and the key disaster. The tow truck came, took the truck and Ed to the dealership. I headed over to the mall on the shuttle. The driver reeked of alcohol. For sure he was drunk, he asked me the same question twice. I really didn’t care. This is how I know I am starting to lose it. I needed $240 of Sephora treatment to get rid of the knot in my stomach.

A few hours later we have a key to the truck! And only $130. Whew. Things are already looking up. Ed is talking to me again and my stomach has settled. And I did offer to go with the tow truck and to fix the mistake myself. Thank god I didn’t have to do that! That was one of the offers where you really don’t want to, but you have to offer because you are the loser who made the situation and it is the polite thing to do, but are just praying the person will say no. Of course I made the offer lying in bed reading, so it was probably pretty clear I wasn’t actually going to go. Spent a few hours shopping, then back to the hotel to our nice new executive king suite. Back to normal-ish.

When you call Ford’s roadside assistance, you have about 5 menus to go through until you reach a person, including providing the 16 digit VIN. Then they ask you ‘are you safe’. Haha. A little late to be asking! But it all worked out and the tow was free so I shouldn’t be complaining.

Dinner at our new favourite Minneapolis restaurant, Bar La Grassa. The food there is just too good. Salted butter ice cream.

Ed has enjoyed my suck-up,’ be so sweet’ behaviour today. It is now over. I can’t keep it up, just isn’t in my constitution. One day was pretty good. I spent the day jumping up to get things, being helpful and agreeable. You really can’t keep that going for more than about 24 hours. I think Ed would have found it phoney if it continued. He did mention a few times on the drive home that ‘atonement is over’. Now that it is all fixed, I’ve adopted the ‘hey, I didn’t hurt anyone’ approach. Switch from regretful to minimizing for me. Another travel upper-hand for Ed to put in his mental file, which I am sure will be coming back to bite me. Repeatedly. Still waiting to hear on where the keys actually are.

The drive home was uneventful. I drove most of the way as Ed was ‘working’. Or on the bb, insulting me to my sister. Smooth sailing through the border, of course fully declaring everything we had purchased and still being well under our limit. As always! We had lunch at a deli and dinner was chocolate bars, until we got home, and my mom had dropped off an entire meal, including brownies!

So that is the end of my Palm Springs travel blog. I am hoping to get to the family camp in Dryden on the May long weekend – a Hoshizaki weekend – I think 5 of them will be there! That sounds like a blog waiting to be written. For a Hoshizaki style example:

So today I kept track of names that Ed called me. But I can’t list most of them here, because they are completely inappropriate and a few don’t really make sense. Sure, there are the usual, like jerk, which is more of a nickname. But there are others. Combinations of body parts and vulgarity. Fortunately they are not all directed at me (I was not called a douche-bag). He is actively looking for new words, trying to find the perfect word to describe certain situations. Some work, some don’t. I know he will keep trying until he gets it just right. In the meantime, I hope I don’t have to hear ‘androgynous bag-licker’ again.








Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb