Day 3 Why Wisconsin?


Advertisement
Published: July 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

“I know its cold up here, but why the heck are there igloos everywhere?” exclaimed Ashley. Fern dropped some knowledge and informed her that they were simply salt barns and no she could not go in them because they would burn her skin.

Well no one commented on our HILARIOUS entry from Day 2 so we feel a little defeated. All of that aside we had another exciting travel day today. The Skittle took us to The House On The Rock. If you don't know about this American Institution, let me drop some knowledge on ya. First, it was started by Alex Jordan who may have been certifiably insane. Second, it is home to the world's largest carousel. Third, it is more mindboggling than anything else. From the infinity room, to the original house on the rock, to the world’s largest indoor carousel, to the heritage of the sea monster, it was over stimulating and intriguing. From The House on the Rock, we traveled through more corn and stumbled upon a cheese store where we stopped for a quick photo for our scavenger hunt and a stick of Wisconsin Cheese. We crossed the Mississippi River into Minnesota where we
Entrance to House on the RockEntrance to House on the RockEntrance to House on the Rock

even the Skittle got to go!
spent quality time with Marc, Kerry, Emma, and baby Ian. 3 year old Emma, showed us around her favorite hot spot, Mall of America, where we toured the Lego Land and rode a roller coaster. Marc showed us the Twin Cities and we stopped by for a delicious treat at an original ice cream parlor



Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Heritage of the Sea..Heritage of the Sea..
Heritage of the Sea..

no picture does it justice!


15th July 2009

Wow lego land !
15th July 2009

Lovin' the blog...even though I didn't comment yesterday. Consider me an official follower. Glad y'all are having a great trip. Ashley, is it nice to get in a car without anyone whining about who is going to buckle and/or unbuckle her? Please tell me you and Fern don't have that problem! Have fun and be safe!
15th July 2009

So Sorry
You know I certainly did not mean to offend you by not posting a comment on day 2. As I am sure you can guess my entire office is enjoying the trip along with you and it was also the hot topic at the hair dresser yesterday too. As worried as I was about this trip when you were going alone, now that you have Ashley I am jealous of the hysterical frivolity you are enjoying!
15th July 2009

mommy
I do not understand how you have made it to south dakota with all the picture taking going on! Must be the energy from Skittle and just a warning don't let the saloons slow you down. Enjoying the updates and can you tell how jealous I am!@#$$% xoxoxo
15th July 2009

Hola
Hope your trip is going GREAT!!!!! Wish Love all the Pic's!!!!!! Drive safe!!!!
15th July 2009

I like cheese
I'm feeling kinda sorry that Wisconsin didn't have more cheese stories. I like cheese a lot. I'm pretty sad about not seeing all of these wonderful places and I didn't comment on day 2 because I illegally read it from school and I was so sad that I was with those kids instead of on the trip.
15th July 2009

Awesome trip
I think everyone was discouraged that the comments from previous days were not approved and therefore unreadable. So maybe they thought comments were being overlooked...or maybe I thought that. Anyway, I am LOVING your blogs and pictures! I'm going to have to recruit you both when I plan my cross-country trip for January. I also might have to veer WAY off my path and take your route. You make days and days of driving seem so fun.
15th July 2009

wow
How was your humor, Fern? Ashley, whoa with that corn pose. Whoa.
16th July 2009

U broke Travis' heart
Mary Ashley Mann, how could you go to Wisconsin and not go to the greatest place in the world according to Travis Warren? Do you realize where the Green Bay Packers play! haha, it looks like yall are having a great time. Love you and miss you, be safe
16th July 2009

WOW
I apologize for not commenting earlier but I just got back from the beach...I just read all the entries! This is amazing. I can tell you guys are having an incredible journey. Can't wait to read the next post!!!
19th July 2009

???
Whats a Resuce Bus??

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb