First Entry: Minnesota


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Minneapolis
January 30th 2009
Published: January 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Route on Saudi Trip

Minneapolis to Amsterdam to Bahrain to Saudi Arabia to Dubai.

Uff-DaUff-DaUff-Da

Famous Minnesota phrase meaning "whew," "wow" or mild expletive. You betcha, don'tcha know?

Before the trip - Minnesota



This is the first entry for my blog. And this is my first blog. So this is really the beginning...

It's Friday night before my trip and I wonder if I really know what I'm doing. I feel as inexperienced in about what I'm going to do as I am in writing a blog. Yet, here I am writing a blog, so maybe I'll figure out what I'm supposed to do when I get to Saudi Arabia.

Saudi Arabia. All I can picture is Lawrence of Arabia. And oil. Lots and lots of sand and oil.

It all started when I got stopped in the hall and asked, "Say, would you be interested in doing an assessment center in Saudi Arabia?" "Say what?????" It's kind of like someone asking you out of the blue if you would want to go to the moon. Or perhaps Jupitor. What can you say? "Gee, I guess so." And so it begins...

This was only three weeks ago! So in that time, I've gone through lots of training, read lots about Saudi culture, and based upon advise from my son-in-law-elect, watched "The Kingdom" on
February in MinnesotaFebruary in MinnesotaFebruary in Minnesota

This is what I am leaving behind in Minnesota!
DVD. Big mistake. Terrorists break into a Saudi Aramco compound (just like where I will be staying); shooting, slaughter, and mayhem prevail. Uh oh. A week later my daughter says, "Gee Dad, we just watched The Kingdom. You might want to wait until you get back before watching it. Too late.

So I now have my visa, my passport, and my new Uffda luggage tag. What more could someone need?

Advertisement



31st January 2009

Way to Go
Ted: For a blog you are doing damn well! It is a real, honest to gosh blog...better than many I have seen. Well done! Good luck on your travels...no strip searches and I look forward to updates. Your Loving Sister, Ellen
1st February 2009

Uff-da in Missouri
Cool! I didn't know you were leaving so soon. Hope you have a wonderful time and I look forward to your Blogs. Sister-in-Law -- Tina PS - Do they have Groundhog's day in Saudi Arabia?
2nd February 2009

Well done!
For a first timer, you are doing great! You see, it wasn't that difficult :) just load some pictures and some text and you're all set. Family and friends will do the rest... Enjoy (if time allows) your trip, and keep us posted. Ciao ciao, Cécile from snowy Brussels
2nd February 2009

Are you kidding me?
What? How could you have not told me of this exciting opportunity, and you're already gone? I'll look forward to hearing all about it. Have fun and stay safe! Missy - PDI colleague.
2nd February 2009

Office chair
Not to worry you; but I think Marianne made off with your desk chair (and stapler). I'm sure she plans to return them both when you return. Have fun! Sarah - fellow PDI-er
3rd February 2009

Office Furniture
Be warned: I have special sensors (like they do at Target) attached to all office items. If they leave the confines of my office, the authorities will be notified.
3rd February 2009

Hey Ted, I didn't know you were going, but hope you have a great trip. I thought it was a big deal that B,C and Lily are now in Orlando, B surprised her with this trip, but Saudi Arabia tops that. gail
3rd February 2009

Thanks for sharing your trip! I am looking forward to your updates and getting a little taste of life in Saudi Aramco from my office chair in Bloomington.
4th February 2009

Wow - Saudi Arabia! Stay safe and keep us updated on your blog . . what a great experience!
6th February 2009

Thank you for including me
Thank you for including me on your travels. Your blog is very interesting thus far I can't wait to read more!! :)
25th March 2013

Ah yes, Minnesota
Looks like a good time of year to leave Minnesota and head to Saudi Arabia.
10th April 2013

Peeps
I had no idea that the gelatin in marshmallows is a pork-based product. Thanks for the information. Fortunately the border guards did not see it!

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 61; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb