Following the Blue Blaze


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Duluth
September 13th 2015
Published: September 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The spending continues as last minute gear and food purchases are completed. Just some fresh food to buy and I should be ready. The trip preparation has been good for the local economy. I packed my pack today and weighed it. Without water and some of the food items (cheese, bread, mixed nuts, dried fruits), the pack weighed 32lbs. It should be around 37lbs with water and additional food items.

The trip logistics are getting complex as I will be fitting in a canoe trip during my hike. I have all the canoe gear ready and have a couple of spots picked out where I will come off the trail and meet my canoe trip partners. I am also setting up my resupply packs. My canoe trip partners will be bringing my first resupply. My girlfriend will bring the second resupply about a week after I rejoin the SHT. We have three or four places identified where she would pick me up. I will most likely come off the trail for a night at that point.

My girlfriend will update this blog while I am on the trail. She writes professionally on the side and the blog should be much more interesting with her writing. I will be calling her when I have a cell signal and providing updates of my progress. Hopefully she will be able to provide insights into my state of mind. She has been extremely helpful and supportive as I prepare for this trip and I appreciate her willingness to help.

The gear pictured on my couch includes (from left to right) sandals, sleeping bag/clothes stuff sack, pillow, air mattress, tent, maps, misc gear bag, tarp, rain gear, insulated mug, pack rain cover, cook gear bag, food bag (green), and water filter. All of the gear plus pack weighs about 24lbs.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb