Sunrise on Lake Superior


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Duluth
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sunrise on Lake SuperiorSunrise on Lake SuperiorSunrise on Lake Superior

A view of the sunrise on Lake Superior where the Gooseberry River feeds into the lake.
Another beautiful day here along the North Shore of Lake Superior. 3:35 came early and the best photo op seemed to be as we were driving to Gooseberry Falls State Park about 40 minutes BEFORE sunrise. The lake was awash in the pastel colors you see before sunrise. But there were no overlooks to stop and capture that moment.

We spent a little over an hour along the lake shore during sunrise and then went up along the falls for another couple of hours. The time just flew by.

On the way back into town, one of our classmates (who lives here in Two Harbors) took two of us to a Pileated Woodpecker’s nest. What a cool experience. I saw two babies (I believe they are called fledglings as they are about to fly). I think I may have captured a few good images of them sticking their heads out of the tree. I won’t know for a little while as I’m busy backing up my images from the morning.

We are on our lunch / rest break and I’m going to take a short nap before heading in for our afternoon session. We’ll have another break
Gooseberry FallsGooseberry FallsGooseberry Falls

I like this different view of the falls. What captured my attention was the rust looking spots on the rock at the top of the image. I'm guessing that is iron ore.
for dinner and then head out for an evening shoot.

Hopefully I’ll be able to upload this and a couple of images.

Thanks for checking in. Hope you are enjoying the view from the road!

It’s certainly been a full day. Almost 10 pm and I have a lot I still want to do. Just got back in from our evening shoot.

My best guess is there will not be an update on Friday.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Mother and fledglingMother and fledgling
Mother and fledgling

One of the Pileated Woodpecker fledglings getting fed by his mother.
Brother and SisterBrother and Sister
Brother and Sister

Here is an image of the two fledglings. The male is on the left.


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0933s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb