Smokey Hollow and...SPAM! Wisconsin-Minnesota


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Austin
May 21st 2011
Published: May 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

So we were cruisin' with the camper all day long, until finally we were super duper tired. So we started looking for a campground to chill at for the night. Then we saw it. The Sign: Smokey Hollow Campground. So we decided to check it out...It was the most awesome campground we had ever seen.

When we pulled up, the first thing we noticed was a mini beach. It was pretty awesome looking. The water was a very nice turquoise, and it was very warm (heated water system)! We did not end up swimming there because it was too cold outside; but if Mom & Dad had let us, I'm sure we would have, no matter what the weather was outside.

We stayed there overnight, and the next morning we got to ride some really cool looking bikes. I, Summer, had a really sweet ride around the putt-putt course. I ,Savannah, did not have a "sweet" ride around the putt-putt course. I had this bike that was way too big for me(which by the way is against the rules from Summer), and as I was heading down the hill, the bike stopped working. So I tried the brakes, and they didn't work. I tried to turn the bike, but it didn't work. I was heading for a tree; so I had to stop somehow. I drug my feet against the ground, but they got tangled in the wheels. By the end of my "not so sweet ride", I had bruises and scrapes all down my legs. GROSS!!! I, Summer, must say that she looked really cool though as she was going down.

I, Madison, tried like thirty bikes. There was one that I felt was really special. It was a little baby bike. I figured I would try it out. I thought I would take it slow, until I went down the hill. It was the fastest bike of them all!!!

So yeah, that was our adventure at Smokey Hollow Campground. Pretty Sweet. 😊 😊 😊

SPAM Museum
Yesterday we went to the Spam Museum here in wonderful Minnesota.

Savannah: Summer & Mom were the only ones who had ever tried SPAM. Maddy & I were not fortunate enough to have the opportunity.

From the outside it looked like a HUGE restaurant and kinda futuristic. It was pretty sweet. They had a movie theater. The doors to enter the theater looked like a pig. We watched a movie called, "A Love Story." It was about people and their love for Spam. We learned what was in SPAM and found out that there is nothing all that gross in it. We also learned where SPAM acquired its name. An actor named Kenneth Daigneau gave the idea for SPAM. It is a combination of words spiced "sp" & ham "am."

SPAM was also used as a weapon during WWII by keeping our military well fed. The government made an agreement with Hormel. Spam was given to our military and our allies (and their civilians who were hard hit by the war). The government cut the program, and Hormel was left with 5,000 (I think) empty cans. So they started making Dinty Moore Beef Stew to fill the cans.

Along the way we found out about a group of girls called The Hormel Girls. They were former military workers who were hired to advertise SPAM. We also got to play dress-up. We dressed up as factory workers in Hormel Foods. We also got to play some Spam trivia. It was a very interesting museum. Anyway, that's all we have to say for now.

"Au Revoir!"-Summer 😊
Thanks!!! - Savannah :B
Peace Out- Madison 8)

Advertisement



25th May 2011

Spam Is Gluten-Free!!!!
Not Only have we recently discovered that Spam is Gluten -Free it was also the canned meat of choice during Y2K. Many a pantry shelves have been stocked to the brim with this salty sweetness! Spam and crackers, spam and eggs, spam and taters, oh the spam food choices are truly infinite. We all wish we fought in WW2, where spam would freely abound. But as Tim Hawkins said: "Im pretty sure that ain't meat!" Bon appetite bro!

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 37; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb