Day 2: Alexandria, Minnesota


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Alexandria
June 28th 2009
Published: June 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Firstly, I know I promised photos for this blog but they're not here. This computer is a POS (sorry, Mom, but this isn't anything new to you) and the program that is supposed to download the photos from the camera onto the computer is not working and I can't figure it out so unfortunately the photos are going to have to wait for tomorrow. We're going to buy some stuff tomorrow that will allow me to easily download the photos onto the computer and get them on here for everyone to see.

That being said, today was another long, but good day. We left around 7 this morning, drove about 675 miles from Goshen, Indiana to Alexandria, Minnesota and arrived here around 7:15 this evening. It was another long, flat, empty drive with the exception of Chicago. We drove right through Chicago today and we stopped and walked around for about 30 minutes. We parked near the waterfront and walked into Grant Park and Millennium Park. They were having a Taste of Chicago festival this weekend so there were vendors everywhere but we were there around 9AM so the place was empty and nothing was open. We walked through the
Sears TowerSears TowerSears Tower

I think it's still called the Sears Tower. It's name is changing soon to the Willis Tower.
park a bit to the waterfront and then rushed back before our parking meter expired. I got some great photos of the building formerly known as the Sears Tower (I don't recall what its new name is since it was changed only recently), Lake Michigan, and other various buildings/archiecture that I thought were interesting. Again, with any luck I'll have these photos on here tomorrow. The little we saw of Chicago was very nice and I enjoyed walking around.

After Chicago we continued on our way through the rest of Illinois, Wisconsin, and into Minnesota. Just like in Pennsylvania, Ohio, and Indiana, there wasn't much to see except for farmland. Dad and I still didn't turn the radio on today and I think we are both having a good time so far. Not much else to write for today. Tomorrow we're heading through North Dakota and into Billings, Montana.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

US Cellular Field US Cellular Field
US Cellular Field

Home of the Chicago White Sox


1st July 2009

You at Lake Michigan
Brian - seriously stop looking so excited. Also, thanks for reppin my country. I'm hungry...I read how you had a milkshake and now I want one. When you come home, we are going to search the land for some serious delicious milkshakes. That is all for now. kbye

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb