May Angels Lead You In


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » UP » Marquette
January 16th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, I know this blog is supposed to be all about my trip to Mexico, but I found out earlier this week that my professor for the course I took on Contemporary Latin American Culture, Dr. Susan Goodrich passed away. Dr. Goodrich helped encourage my passion for Latin America, and my passion for Latin America is why I chose Mexico as my study abroad destination. In a sense, Dr. Goodrich helped guide me in the direction of further studies of Latin American studies and I feel as if I owe her a few words of respect. I wrote this on the ASNMU blog page @ http://asnmu.nmu.edu/blog/?p=44, where you can leave messages for the Goodrich family. Also, memorials may be made in her name to the Foundation Fighting Blindness, P.O. Box 17279, Baltimore, MD 21203-7279 or online at www.blindness.org/ by phone at 1-800-683-5555.

Like Dr. Goodrich, one of my biggest passions includes Latin America. This is how I came to have a class with Dr. Goodrich. Truthfully, I complained a lot throughout the course. I complained about the amount of essays. I complained about the several quizzes. I complained about the tons of reading. And in all honesty, it was a rather large workload, but this was because Dr. Goodrich set high standards for her students. She challenged her students and believed in us. I only complained, because it is what college students do when they are stressed out. It is unfortunate that I will never have her as a professor again, and that is now my only complaint. She had a profound and contagious passion for what she taught. She cared for her students, and went out of her way to help me and to congratulate me on my achievements. I will also never forget her amazing sense of humor, which probably helped her stay sane as my professor. She challenged my thoughts, and even brought several Latin American issues to my attention that I had no clue existed. Her thorough knowledge in Latin American Studies was both humbling and inspiring. NMU and the surrounding community suffered a great loss with the passing of Dr. Goodrich. NMU and the Department of the Modern Languages and Literature will not be the same without her.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb