Mapping and Planning and Reserving


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Troy
June 4th 2015
Published: July 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

RoadtrippersRoadtrippersRoadtrippers

This is a roadtrippers map that show you how many miles, estimated gas, hours driving and things to see and do along the route.
Geo: 42.5624, -83.1545

I have spent the last year mapping out our next road trip across the US. We are very excited once again. We will be traveling to some south/southwestern states. We will travel for 16 days in our beast, our conversion van. We have enjoyed our van over the past couple of years. It is quite comfortable and room. It is actually very easy to drive.

This year, our new states are Tennesee, Arkansas, Oaklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Colorado, Kansas and Missouri. Some states we will spend the night and have a meal while others we will find some local activities to give us a flavor for the state/city. I use tripadvisor for ideas, tips as well as reviews on activities. It has been very helpful. I also use Roadtrippers app to map our my route and find "things to see and do" along that route. I really like that app. It can give you everything from restaurants to activities to hotels along your route. It also gives you an estimate on miles and gas you might use. Both have been very helpful on all of my trips.

Soon I will load up my van with my rubbermaid drawers and hanging rod. I will pull out our backpacks for carrying our nightly change of clothes for the hotel. Imagine 16 days of dragging suitcases into hotels. No thanks. I've astonished many hotels when I open the back of the van. "I've got this," I tell them. Again I will carry one large duffle with all of our bathroom stuff for easy departures. We leave the bag in the bathroom and just sweep everything back in as we leave instead of everyone trying to collect what is theirs. Works great for now until my babes reach teen years. We'll see then.

I've booked hotels and booked some activies like the St. Louis Arch. Many times, booking ahead saves you from lines and sometimes a few dollars. I booked a room package at the Peabody in Memphis that includes letting the kids be the Grand Marshalls of the marcing of the ducks down to the lobby. They don't know yet. They will get a kick out of it. We are also taking the VIP tour of the Grand Ole Opry in Nashville. We aren't country music fans but we have heard it is a great experience.

So as I finallize some details, the excitement builds. We can't wait to hop in our van and experience our country like adventurers. Will it be perfect? Likely not but nothing a glass of wine won't fix after a long day driving.

Advertisement



26th June 2015

I hope you guys have a great trip! I see you are going through Memphis! Are you going to stop at the King's house? Will and Ben are dying to go there!!!
27th June 2015

cannot wait to see pic of them at the Peabody!!!! I was the grand marshall once myself :) you are going to have a blast!!! cannot wait to read about your adventures!!!!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb