Houghton-Hancock


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Hancock
December 20th 2009
Published: December 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm staying at the Ramada Inn in Hancock right across the bridge from Houghton for this trip because it is close to Keweenaw Motorsports. That's because I'll be picking up Jan's new snowmobile there Tuesday. It's a 2009 Skidoo MXZ 600 Etec. That's why I've got the 2007 Arctic Cat F8 for sale on Ebay.

It's Sunday evening and I had a real nice uneventful trip here from home. Dry roads and clear weather. This is the first time in a number of years that there was actually snow cover all the way from home to here. It made me remember one of my adventure snowmobile trips that I never was able to do. When I was younger I wanted to ride a snow machine from Northern Illinois to the UP, but there was never a year with enough snow to do it. With the extensive trail system in Wisconsin it can be done. Now that there's enough snow, I don't know if there's enough piss & vinegar in this 60 yr old to do it. It would probably take 3 days of hard riding to do it. As I wrote that sentence, I thought, why the hell can't I do it? Well, let's just see how long the snow lasts....

I'm planning on riding tomorrow, maybe up to the Gay Bar and points north. I'll let you know.

Advertisement



21st December 2009

Hell yea you can do it! Ride the snowmobile back to Chicago then get on the motorcycle and ride back to the truck and trailer and come home. How many beers would this be?
21st December 2009

Beers
I'm guessing it would be quite a few!!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb