Flight Travel Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Detroit
September 25th 2009
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 42.3316, -83.0478

September 25, 2009 ~ Air Travel Day

Hubby & I awoke around 5:30am this morning, nervous and excited. We tossed and turned and stayed in bed until nearly 9am when I could not take it any longer ~ Hubby's mumblings about "I dreamt I was a superhero… and I didn't have all my powers…and so things weren't going well" was enough to make me start laughing and then I was wide awake. Hubby had requested omelets from Aunt Helen “with all the bells and whistles” so after our showers, she had breakfast ready! It was again, scrumptious. We were ready to go around 10:30am so they took us to the airport and we checked-in for our flight to Detroit. The St. Louis airport has a smoking lounge in every terminal now, by the way. Hubby is quite happy to realize that most airports have come to speed and realized there are still smokers out there. I don't smoke but I'm happy he's happy. We got to Detroit after a super-quick flight and realized this is the same airport we had a layover in coming back from Quebec last year. Hubby had thought this all along however, I had debated
and said it was Minneapolis. Needless to say, he was correct and he knew exactly where the Fox Sports Bar & Grill was located ~ the only smoking establishment in this huge airport! We had chicken strips and mini burgers. We really didn't feel we needed food but ate anyway because we don't know what is offered on an overnight 9-hour flight. Anyway, while in the Detroitairport, I was able to obtain free Internet, by surprise, from the Delta Skyclub members lounge which was located next to the restaurant. Yay! Which reminds me, all the airports have changed since we flew last year ~ you must pay for Internet access in St. Louis and now in Detroit, too. I believe it is $9.95 a day ~ and I'm usually too thrify to pay. Regardless, we had just enough time to post our first day blog, eat, get a Starbucks (a must for me), and board the plane. A 9-hour flight awaits us and they require that all passengers be ON THE PLANE 30 minutes prior to the flight leaving. I cringe when imagining the leg room. However, there is one perk ~ since we are flying Northwest all the way to and fro Rome, we read their “Skyclub” magazine on the first flight and learned all passengers get free beer and free wine all the way to Rome. This makes me happy because after two glasses, I will surely be able to sleep through some of this long flight. Tomorrow, we will “wake-up” in Rome
where it is reportedly 76 degrees, partly sunny/partly cloudy, and our plane should land around 10:45am. “Roma” here we come!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb