Copper Harbor


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Copper Harbor
October 12th 2018
Published: October 12th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Copper Harbor

At the northernmost point of the Keweenaw Peninsula.

I waited quite a while this morning for the temperature to get above 32 and by 11:00 AM, I decided I had to get on the road even though the temperature was only 29. It had gone down to 27 last night. There were still some light snow squalls going on, but for the most part, the highway was just wet. I did run into a bit of ice at one point and the Spyder wiggled around a bit which was disconcerting. I also ran into a bit of slush at a couple points in the middle of the lane. Other than that, it was an enjoyable enough ride. All I can say again is thank God I brought my snowmobile bibs. Without them, I would have frozen or I just wouldn't have been able to go.



Once again, the colors were outstanding, especially as I got closer to Copper Harbor. The further north I went, I noticed that the red maples had lost their leaves, so maybe I'm a few days past the peak and maybe the wind yesterday took some of them down. US 41 is a very winding road for about 15 miles heading into Copper Harbor and has a beautiful canopy of trees. Once again, The dreary weather has put a damper on the photography. A few minutes after I checked into my room at the Mariner, it really snowed hard for a few minutes. I tried to capture it in a photo, but I'm sure it won't look as heavy as it was.



Tomorrow I ride to Big Bay which is about 30 miles north of Marquette. I'm looking forward to the final 50 miles which is all through forest without a town or any civilization.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



13th October 2018

Just figured out you weren’t getting my wisecracks bc you need a title AND a comment!
So now that that’s settled - make sure to look for Jimmy Stewart and the Anatomy of a Murder bar!

Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 107; dbt: 0.1939s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb