Relaxation and cots, with a side of Ann Arbor


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Ann Arbor
March 21st 2006
Published: March 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm A LoserI'm A LoserI'm A Loser

This is to replace all the pics that I didn't take
Here we go again.

Now, only because I just left it, I will start my blog with this thought. Humans are a weird bunch. I realized just another way that we trick ourselves. I go into a jacuzzi to relax, however...that shit takes a lot of work. The jets are blowing, you keep floating around, and you really can't sit still. You have to keep yourself above water, soon you start sweating, and you're already hot....what gives. So 15 minutes later, after a "so-called relaxing time at the spa," you have to get out. Just a little thought to ponder.

Now, onto my travels. Its been a long time in Michigan. And guess what? It's COLD! Right now it's about 20 degrees. Even though my journal says Ann Arbor, I'm writing to you from Acme, Michigan. This is where we are staying for our show in Bellaire tomorrow. That sound's nice Bellaire.....DECIEPT! It doesn't even have a hotel there. Hrmph. We're in the top part of the mitten of Michigan (for you geography nerds), near some bays or something. Right by Lake Michigan......so basically, the north pole! We tried to check in to our hotel tonight by using the
ClassClassClass

Full of it
sneak attack ninja method. This is a very stealthy move that we have been using. We look up hotels online and check for cheap deals, then instead of reserving it, we go into the hotel and try to get it cheaper. Sometimes it works, but if not, they always at least give us the rate that we saw online. Well, this skanky you-know-what told us she could only give us $69 when online told us $53. She said "Sorry that's all I can do, you'll just have to make the reservation online then." Well I sat in her driveway and stole their internet access. That didn't work, so we called and got the room. $53. Take that hooker. Went for a dip (as you heard) and now I'm here, with you. Darling.

Okay, back from a smoke break (I don't know why I torture myself in 20 degree weather, without windchill....habit)......

We did our show in Reading on Friday. It was Markuz’s favorite school so far. I was in disagreement until we left. As we left one of the teachers, who was from California gave us some home baked cookies! Awesome. She even offered us a place to
uh huhuh huhuh huh

Ready for an overdue weekend out
stay, she said she had 2 spare rooms, but we thankfully declined. It is a weekend for Detroit with us.

After talking to a few people about the area, we decided to stay friday night in Ann Arbor, home of the University of Michigan. Its about 45 minutes from downtown Detroit. On our way there we stopped in Jackson to get the van worked on. We had gone to a little mechanic shop in Reading, but they were extremely rude and were trying to rip off a few young travelers....I saw right through them. We left immediately.....they thought that they were hot stuff. The only mechanics for miles. Luckily we found Jimmy's. Eric at Jimmy's in Jackson (wow) was super sweet and knew what he was talking about. We could tell when he pulled out a huge 3 foot screwdriver, put it to something on the engine and put his ear to it saying "Aw yeah, that's it. You need a water pump." So we sat inside the little place and waited. While there, Markuz and I had another revelation. We thought of this same idea while at Cracker Barrel, but it became extremely poignant at this moment. Every
the Bartenderthe Bartenderthe Bartender

at the Aut Bar
place that either feeds the public or does any type of work for the public, must house a cot. At a restaurant the table can flip over onto a bed where you can take a quick cat nap after filling your stomach. At the mechanic’s, nap while they work, and not sitting up on a bench either. Marvelous idea.Off with our new water pump, we were on our way. We did have to stop at the local mall to check it out. Cute.

Once we got to Ann Arbor, I was tired and grumpy. I was about to welcome aunt flow into town and I needed to rest. Markuz was ready to go out, so we spent our first time apart form one another. Tear. It was needed. Not that we don't get along, but it was becoming unhealthy.

He came back with tales of a great gay bar. He found it all by himself, I was proud. There was a wierd guy at the desk that kept staring at me all night, as I went back and forth to the car. I tend to do that a lot. I'm always forgetting something. At least we stayed at
The GuysThe GuysThe Guys

This is "so and so, and so and so"
the Super 8 and not the Holiday Inn. They were advertising a "whirligig." What the hell is that? I don't know, but I didn't want to be in its vicinity.

The next day we were off for an adventure in Detroit. We went to Greektown (thanks Jacko 😊), and it was precious. We ate great greek food for lunch at Pegasus. Besides the fact that our waitress was a bad word, it was great. I know that these servers don't know any better, but we eat out a lot, and my expectations are high. I tip appropriately, and needless to say, hers was quite that. We had to eat well because that night we were having casserole a la microwave. Easy mac and a can of peas. Yum!

We drove around downtown and I was a loser! I forgot my camera and I have no pictures of that. I think we will go back along the trip so I can get some. There was a lot to see. In Allen Park, right outside of Detroit, is the world's biggest tire (a uniroyal). There was a lot of roadkill. As there is a lot on this trip. Hmm. Detroit
Over itOver itOver it

I'm SO
is really depressing. There are a lot of run down buildings and it kind of looks like the end of the world. It was sad. And freezing!

Now for more exciting news. We thought that since we were so close we should go to CANADA! WOO HOO! We went to Odette Sculpture Park in Windsor Ontario. It was beautiful, but cold. And it cost us $7 to get across the toll bridge and back. Well it was worth it to tell all of you that I went to CANADA. So I'll say it once more. I went to CANADA!

We went back to the hotel in Ann Arbor, and I napped so we could go out. We are still poor, so we went to the local Rite Aid and bought some Southern Comfort and coke. We had a little dance party in our room and then off to the bar. Unfourtunatly, the awesome gay bar that Markuz found was only gay on Friday (What?). But there was one more that is always gay. Markuz drove us around for an hour and a half until we found it. We had a good time....because we snuck in my flask (thanks Aim). The bartender lightened up and then we met a few peeps. Including two 16-year old boys! They lived one hour away and came all that way to go to a LAME BAR. But I guess there wasn't anything better to do. And I live in a glass house.

Alas we went to sleep. We checked out the next day and drove to Jackson. P.S. Jackson is where the State Penetintary is. I felt safe. We wanted to see a movie but it didn't start until 4pm. Markuz had been craving Red Lobster so I humored him. And this time, I brought a book. There was absolutley nothing for me to eat. Besides veggies and cheese sticks. So I opted out, and waited two hours for Markuz to eat. We went to Burger King for a veggie burger combo after words. I ate it in 10 minutes.

We watched the Libertine. Awesome movie. But what isn't with Johnny Depp. It was super dirty and vulger, but the writing was brilliant. Loved it.

Now to today. It was our roughest day yet. First we woke up late and were rushed. The school was on Bennet road. I was giving Markuz directions and said " first you pass Lincoln, then Bush, and then you get to Bennet." There was a long pause and then Markuz said, "Did we have a President Bennet." I know that you were all thinking it too (these are the types if conversations we have). We had our first Shakespeare ever on the tour and I was teriified. We performed at 9am, and we were fantastic. We packed up and drove an hour and a half to our next school. We had two dorothys back to back. No break. The kids at this school in Dearbourn Heights were out of control. It took every ounce of energy to stay on top of their noise. After the first show we were exausted and then had another. However, the kids loved it and stayed to talk to us afterwards. That's what we do it for. Then our tired asses packed up and drove for 5 hours to our hotel.

So I leave you with this thought. On about our third day of tour, Markuz was driving so I could nap. I made a few calls and then curled up. Markuz leaned over to me and said, "Sarah you wasted your nap budget talking on the phone." Nap budget. Really. Okay. It has become a household term for us. So try using it in your life. Everything has a budget. Don't waste it yapping.

Always...Missing you sooooooo

(I really and homesick, for both homes)
sarah g


Advertisement



21st March 2006

Awwwww
Hey there. It's raining here again...love it. Nothin like a little early morning Lennon and rain. Your blog was cracking me up this morning. Good to hear your voice. Love and miss you, Amy
22nd March 2006

PS
Oh, one more thang... Ka'Imi invited us to her bridal shower...it's this Saturday....so, needless to say, I'll let her know what is up....ALSO, Mitchell gave me Markuz's tax stuff.....ask Markuz if he needs me to do anything other than hang on to it 'til y'all get back. Okay! Going to Disneyland BYE!

Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb