Homeward Bound: Reflections on a Year Abroad and the Travel Bug


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts
October 22nd 2013
Published: October 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

2 months went by a lot quicker than I realized! Sorry for the absence, I know I left you all hanging there. But I'm sure most of you know by now that I am back home in the US (and have been for about 9 weeks). Let me rewind just a tad and get you up to speed....

I spent a rainy week in Amsterdam before catching a flight back to Iceland. What was supposed to be a 5 day stopover in this little country on the Mid-Atlantic Ridge was cut short when Iceland Air forgot to tag my bag in Amsterdam, meaning I arrived in Reykjavik sans luggage. Smartly, I carry all my valuables- wallet, passport, camera, ipod- in my carry-on. Unwisely, I did not also think to pack a change of clothes, my contacts, or a toothbrush. Thankfully my generous couchsurfing host to came my rescue and I still managed to enjoy 2 nights here. In the meantime, the airlines bumped my flight up 3 days and tracked down the missing baggage. In all my travels, this was my first time I've ever lost a bag, so I would say I'm doing pretty well. I stayed positive; clothes are replaceable. And to my luck, my bag arrived in Iceland just in time to board my return flight to Boston with me!

I was greeted back on US soil a few days ahead of schedule by my father. We had a happy celebration full of stories, pictures, and lots of comfort food. The next day I surprised my mother, who had no idea I was coming home, in a very tearful reunion. The following days were filled with phone calls, visits, and endless hugs from friends. But no one was happier about my return than me! Since coming back I have been busy- making time to see everyone near and far, working at my new position as the assistant manager of Red Cherry Frozen Yogurt, finding a car, etc. I will not lie- adapting to life back in the US has been a challenge. Culture shock is very bizarre to experience when you are coming "home". I assumed that I would only stay for a short amount of time, just long enough to save up some money and plan the next adventure. But 2 weeks quickly turned to 2 months, for now, no future travel has been planned.



Coming home has presented even more challenges than I ever imagined. It has been a roller coaster emotionally, physically, romantically, and financially. I have experienced intense highs and crushing lows. I have questioned every human connection and evaluated every relationship in my life. I have struggled to pinpoint my goals/purpose/self-worth. I have lost a sense of belonging in the country I was raised in. Through this whole process I have found more questions than answers; discovered my confusion than solution. But through all the feelings, thoughts, words, and tears, I have found out many things about myself. Some are too personal to blog, but I figured some of them may be worth while to share here, as a way to know me and understand more about the true spirit of travel.

I was told by a close friend that some of my internal conflict is based on the fact that there are really two Kristins. No, not that I have multiple personality disorder, but that I lead two very different, separate realities: travel life and home life. Traveling Kristin lives one day at a time- no plan, no itinerary, simply existing in the moment and taking opportunities as they come (say yes more?). At home Kristin lives with structure- constantly under pressure to remain organized and focused, to the point of bordering on OCD and anxiety. How can two such conflicting lifestyles exist inside one person? And how can I find balance or get them to overlap? This is a challenge I am still working on. Due to the encouragement of some wise friends, I have decided to remain stateside until I can find clarity in this situation. Too many people see travel as an escape; "what are you running away from?" people ask. I don't travel to evade, I travel to seek. Exactly what, I am still unsure. Most likely a place that makes my heart happy. But in order to listen to my heart I must quiet my brain, which means I need to put some serious effort into sorting through my emotions. I need to understand my strengths, weaknesses, insecurities, and convictions. It may be a long process, but it's worth the effort. What doesn't kill you makes you stronger, right?

Until further notice, there is no next adventure. Not to say there won't ever be; I am thoroughly convinced there in no antidote for the travel bug. But maybe staying in one place for a bit- letting the waters settle- could be therapeutic. I know that many self-realizations are yet to come, and I hope you will allow me to work through them here. Two years of movement has lead to a large amount of reflection to sort out! Hang tight, it's gonna be a bumpy ride 😊

Advertisement



23rd October 2013

seeking
I think we all spend our life seeking to understand ourselves, others and our world, better. You just have taken it to a wider playing field. Staying "home" doesn't have to be a pause in the adventure, just a different sort of adventure. I know you will find more roads to travel, both near and far, and I will be with you somehow on every one. I love you! mom
23rd October 2013

Welcome Home!
Hi Kristin, Your blog is so insightful. You obviously gave it a lot of thought. You are a strong, intelligent woman, give yourself time to absorb the experiences and lessons. The only thing constant in life ...is change. We just need to be up for it.
24th October 2013

Thanks for sharing your reflections...
on your two years of being abroad. I also found returning to the States to be more culture shock than going overseas. There's nothing like having to read the McDonald's menu to decide what to order. I hope on your new job you get a couple weeks vacation per year. Please blog about those, no matter how close to home they are. And drop us a line when you get this thing figured out!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb