I'm going to try this place out.


Advertisement
Published: June 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

My name is Andy, but I'm also known as Lofton26 at the travel forums of www.eurotrek.com

I'm going to attempt to use this place to post my travel journals. I'm going to Uzbekistan on July 27th, so I'll experiment with this place during that trip. I'd like to create some entries giving brief summaries of my previous fifteen overseas ventures as well to make this journal somewhat complete. I won't be writing about my travels in the USA or Canada, because that's not what this site is about for me. I've also visited Chichen Itza and Cozumel in Mexico on a cruise back in 2003, but that won't be found here either. I also won't write much about the famous cities like Paris, London, Rome, or Florence. That kind of thing can be found anywhere and honestly, I don't have the energy to be the one millionth person to say that Louvre is a great art museum or that the canals of Venice smell bad.

In 2008 and 2009, I'm planning some epic RTW style jaunts, which will probably be traveled as a pair of 3 month deployments during the earlier parts of both years. Also, a trip to my wife's homeland of Romania is scheduled for October.

A little about me...

I'm originally from Akron, Ohio and now live in Boston, MA. I'm 26 and married to Raluca, a Romanian that I met at a festival in Sighisoara on a backpacking trip in 2003. Love it or hate it, I'm a country counter, but I don't step inside the border for five seconds and claim the territory for my own. I have done considerable exploring in each country that I tally. 47 is my current total.

I hope you enjoy reading.

I have visited the following countries...

Visited Countries Map


Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb