New York @ Christmas (Day 1)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Worcester
December 16th 2010
Published: January 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Four o'clock in the morning, I get up to get dressed to take the express bus to New York. After almost four hours driving I arrive in the city. It's so cold and I'm happy I have my warm jacket and scarf.
First stop the hostel, I take the Red line to 103rd. The subway is crowded by New Yorkers going to work and I'm happy to hop off with my big bag. After I drop my things, I'm heading to the centre by foot. After a couple of blocks and a warm 'Pumpkin Spice Latte' at the Starbucks, I decide to take the subway to South Ferry.

The ferry to Staten Island passes by the Statue of Liberty. This ferry is free and even from here I have a nice view of New York skyline and Ellis Island. http://www.siferry.com/
From Staten Island seashore I have a beautiful view on Manhattan. There is also the Staten Island September 11 Memorial that honors the Staten Island victims of the terrorist attack.

Walking through the streets of downtown Manhattan I arrive at the Brooklyn Bridge. The Brooklyn Bridge is one of the oldest suspension bridges in the United States. Completed in 1883, it connects the New York City boroughs of Manhattan and Brooklyn by spanning the East River. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brooklyn_Bridge
I take the pedestrian walkway to the first towers on the Manhattan-side of the Brooklyn Bridge. I have a wonderful view over the East River from Brooklyn, the Manhattan Bridge, Manhattan Downtown and Midtown.

As the night is falling, I arrive at the Rockefeller center with the famous Christmas tree. In 2010, the tree was lit on November 30, and is scheduled to remain illuminated until the first week of January, 2011. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rockefeller_Center_Christmas_Tree
I also discovered the Lego store.



Additional photos below
Photos: 74, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

NYC, Staten Island 9-11 memorial, Dec16 2010 (11)NYC, Staten Island 9-11 memorial, Dec16 2010 (11)
NYC, Staten Island 9-11 memorial, Dec16 2010 (11)

Staten Island was one of the hardest hit communities on 9/11, losing nearly 270 loved ones in the terrorist attacks on New York City that day. As a result, Staten Island needed its own memorial, a place for the loved ones of the victims to mourn and reflect, and a place for all visitors to remember those who lost their lives on that tragic day. (www.statenislandusa.com)
NYC, Staten Island 9-11 memorial, Dec16 2010 (12)NYC, Staten Island 9-11 memorial, Dec16 2010 (12)
NYC, Staten Island 9-11 memorial, Dec16 2010 (12)

Borough President Molinaro made the creation of a Staten Island 9/11 Memorial one of his top priorities, and allocated over $2 million in capital funding for its establishment. Mayor Bloomberg also allocated $300,000 in capital funds for the Memorial. (www.statenislandusa.com)


9th January 2011

Ca a l'air super chouette NY. Dommage que je ne sache pas venir mais on le referra. Tu as l'air de bien trouver ton chemin en de profiter des choses bien Américaines. C'est chouette de voir que tu pourras raconter tout ça à Kyara. Peut-être qu'elle attrappera le microbe et qu'elle te demandera de l'emmener là-bas. Pourtant, on t'attend tous ici et on éspère te revoir très bientôt! La semaine en février est déjà notée sur le calendrier! gros bisous et amuse-toi bien! Alicia, Yens, Kyara et Denzo
10th January 2011

Coucou List & Co
Oh oui NY est magnifique et c'est sûre je retournerai avec toi et peut-être mademoiselle quand elle sera assez grande. Surtout maintenant que je connais et que je sais où vous emmenez!

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb