Day 10 at Riggs


Advertisement
Published: May 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post


So THIS is why I love it here! x
Hey Guys!



So, this week's been going steadily, and have therefore not had much to blog about, but thought I'd keep you all in the loop!

Being here at Riggs has started to affect my own psychology - a lot! I've started to notice that the nature of my experience here has been unsettling and I have felt quite destabilised and have started to have weird dreams. This, of course, was going to be inevitable (unless I adopted an army of defense mechanisms - in which case, my experience here would be wasted!) My unconscious has been provoked and awakened and whilst disturbing, it provides a fascinating learning resource. My boundaries remain in place, so it's well-contained and feels very safe, and furthermore, I get an insight into the complexity of where my psyche ends, and where the patients' begin.

The process has invited me to process an anxious avoidant attachment with the patient community and supervision with my Preceptor - Dr Mark Elliot, has been incredibly valuable to this end; ensuring the experience is both safe and full of learning and development potential!

Anyhow, on a much lighter note, I've realised that each Thursday at Riggs is Donut day! (see pic!) - this makes me extremely happy!

Julia's last day was today - gonna miss having her around! I've got the medical student role to myself now!

I'm heading to Boston tomorrow for the weekend - will naturally update blog accordingly!

Hope all's well back home!

Jonny

xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb