Jan 2014- Brookie's 18th Birthday Surprise


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Scituate
February 2nd 2014
Published: February 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Jan 9th, left somewhat sunny but warm ( average 58- 64 degrees F) for my home, Boston. The main reason for going home was to surpise my wonderful, amazing and beautiful niece, Brooke for her 18th Birthday. I am also honored to be Brooke's godmother so I wanted to make sure I was there for one of her big birthdays- Welcome to being an Adult Brooke.

I was in Boston from Jan 9- 25th, unfortunately just like most trips home didn't have much R and R time it was mixed with having to log in or travel into Boston to work in our US office 😞 ...



The first week home, the weather was actually warm for New England in Jan - ( 30 to 40 degrees F).. Was nice being able to spend time with my family- including my mom and dad who had come up from Florida and reconnect with friends. Unfortunately I was not able to see all of my friends and co- workers this time around but hopefully next trip. There was sadness this trip home too, my good friends Julie and Dereck lost Dereck's dad - he was an amazing man and
Main StreetMain StreetMain Street

North Conway
fought a long and strong battle against his cancer.

The weekend of Jan 17th- we headed up to North Conway for a Brookie's surprise gift - skiing and shopping in North Conway. Mom, me, Debbie , Mike, Lauren, Karen, Maxx, Anthony , and of course Brooke- all headed up. We were graced with Eric, Ryan and baby Nora's presence on Saturday which was a great surprise and a lot of fun. North Conway is special to my family- my parents always treated us to a trip up North in the winter and fall and as adults we all gravitated to going back up there, it has been harder these past two years since we loss Mike to his battle to cancer to go up because it was one of his favorite places too and it brings back a lot of happy and sad memories.

Overall- everyone had fun- the kids went snowboarding with Lauren, Debbie and Mike. Mom, Karen and I hit the shops of North Conway. Saturday night, we surprised Brooke and took her to the Muddy Moose one of her favorite restuarants for her birthday dinner. And for an extra no cost gift, mother nature added
Main Street Main Street Main Street

North Conway
in snow that night and am ...

Sunday - back to Boston we went to make it home in time for the AFC Playoffs game were I was hoping the Pats would pull it off and beat the Denver Broncos so this Sunday it would be Seattle VS NE not Seattle vs Denver- well we all know how that worked out. So Go SEATTLE. I refuse to root for Payton Manning- can't stand him.



The following week ( my last week) flew by.. and felt way too short. I was able to spend time with Ann Marie, Jay, Mikaela, Maddie and Matthew- we had the family birthday party for Brookie and then I went to see the girls at their gymnastics practice.. They are so good. Of course I had to visit my brother in law Jay one last time at Maria's to get my final sub to hold me over till my next trip home...

As my last dinner in Boston I found it fitting to go to one of my favorite restaurants which is hitting notoriety now with the A&E show Wahlburgers, Alma Nove.. had the lobster /squash ravilios- delicious. Was nice being
Birthday Girl Birthday Girl Birthday Girl

Brookie in our hotel room in North Conway
able to see my friend Kristen and go to eat with my sister MaryEllen.

Of Course, Mother nature could not let me leave Boston without having 19 inches of snow delivered on Wed to the South Shore- do not miss shoveling and the weather to drop down to the - degrees or 1 to 2 degrees- hello can not feel any part of your body..

But with that said... Any trip home to be able to spend time with family and friends is so worth it. So Boston until May/ June and Baseball season- will be chatting with you from Hong Kong



Peace,

sue


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

MatthewMatthew
Matthew

Matthew enjoying his oreo cookie cupcake
Birthday GirlBirthday Girl
Birthday Girl

Happy 18th
The BoysThe Boys
The Boys

Maxx, Anthony and Mike trying to be cool
Maxx and the PenguinMaxx and the Penguin
Maxx and the Penguin

Mt.Cranmore's mascot
Muddy MooseMuddy Moose
Muddy Moose

Dinner for Brooke's bday
Dunkin DonutsDunkin Donuts
Dunkin Donuts

Oh how I missed DD and Mary Lou's coffee


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb