Seagulls in Nantucket


Advertisement
Published: July 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

I went for my traditional photo walk around the tip of the bay towards a cute lighthouse to look for a quite place to call my family. While I was on the phone I noticed a seagull diving into the water catching something and flying away. As it flew away it dropped whatever it caught on the dock and then it flew down and cought it afain just to drop it once more. Very quickly I figured out that it was cracking the shell to eat the animal inside it. I thought it was fun to try to photgraph the behaviour and I just put my phone in the pocket while I spent some time watching two seagulls going around in loops diving down for shells, cracking them on the dock eating them and doing it over and over again. So much fun!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



7th July 2015
 Seagulls-Nantucket- MA-5

Gulls
Wow, utterly fantastic!!

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb