Today is the Day


Advertisement
Published: July 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The confidence I was feeling earlier in the week has slowly diminished as today approached. Now I'm sitting at my sister's, eating chicken dinos, bag packed and ready to go scared out of my mind. It's sad to think that in 24 hours from now I'll still have 8 hours of flying time remaining. I won't be arriving in Bangkok until 12:35PM on Sunday, so expect another blog Sunday or Monday. Til then, enjoy your weekend and we'll chat soon. Here goes nothing!

Love,
Thai Kho


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

BeforeBefore
Before

Before
AfterAfter
After

After


11th July 2008

Have Fun
Have Fun Kristin and be careful. I'll see you when you get back. Love, Deb
11th July 2008

OMG that backpack is the same size as the purse i use every day
it is definitely scary to leave everyone and everything for a while to try something new, but i am positive the strong and brave thai-kho will be ready to go as soon as you step foot off the plane! the thing i can't get over is how little you are bringing, when i went to italy for a month i took 2 gigantic suitcases!!! already your pics made me laugh, i can't wait to see more. have a safe and amazing trip!!! love a
11th July 2008

that bag!!
are you kidding me!!! my pocketbook is bigger than that! have a great time and be SAFE.
11th July 2008

go Thai K-Ho
Kristin, have the time of you life! Enjoy yourself..Be safe. Have a safe flight. I can't wait to hear about your adventure. Love Ya!!!
11th July 2008

Be careful!
Kristin, Be careful and enjoy this unbelievable adventure. Can't wait to read more.
11th July 2008

Sister Anxiety
Ok, she really is going. ~sigh~ Dropped her off to the Bailey's to go to Logan. And yes, I did cry and hold on to her for dear life begging her not to go in the middle of the street. (I have witnesses to prove this happened.) I promised Kristin if anyone abducts her I will search the rest of my life for her. Probably should have thought of something more clever to say or at least nice, like I love you, have fun, we'll miss you. But nope, that was all that I could get out! Then I said Our Fathers and Hail Marys the whole ride home, sobbing, while Jaclyn sang the alphabet in the back. Then thought, how will I ever get thru Jaclyn going on a vacation? College?? Hell, Kindergarten!!!!?? Kristin hasn't even taken off and I'm waiting for the next blog entry. Is it Sun or Monday yet?? This'll be the first summer I wish away. (minus the one I was pregnant and swollen in) Kris, I miss you terrible already and feel so lonely without you. But I guess I could say my farewell now -- I love you, I miss you and have fun!
11th July 2008

There she goes....
Hey... can you bring me back some chicken fingers and spare ribs? No MSG please. And maybe some white rice. Thanks so much. Have a blast... And don't take any wooden fortune cookies.
11th July 2008

There she goes....
Off to see the Wizard? Don't forget to bring back fortune cookies.
12th July 2008

hi Ms. howell
hi miss howell are you excited about your adventure ? i wish i was going but i cant i have a math work booklet to do this summer and 2 books to read you get adventure so i guess the only way i'll get adventure is if i look bat your udated pictures please reply, Tyla Tognarelli
12th July 2008

.....and your off!!!!
Hey Thai Kho, The time is now, relax, enjoy, have fun and stay safe. I'm sure this will be an amazing experience for you. I will be following along the journey. Love Lucille
12th July 2008

You can do it!
Go get 'em Kristin!! You fit a lot of things into that backpack!
12th July 2008

Good Luck
Hi Kristen, I am really excited for you! I think what you are doing is wonderful. Even though I am not as adventureous as you (not in the least) I will live this journey through you. When I go "down the shore" overnight, I take more than you are taking for your entire trip!!!!! Not that this is a good thing. I did see that you are taking Eckhart along with you. What a great companion. I can't wait to read and see your journey. (Now I can understand how you stayed in that convent when you first came to New Jersey.) Stay safe and have a great time. Love, Bonnie
12th July 2008

Oh boy!
Hey K-Ho!Well let's see it's 9pm on Friday night, you have 2 hours down of flying only 1 1/2 days to go. I could vomit thinking about it! Hope you are doing ok! Can't wait to hear about your flight. Saying prayers for you everyday! :)
12th July 2008

I cant beleive you fit that all into your bag..... Have a great time.... and be safe.... cant wait to read all your stories..... Love Andrea <3
12th July 2008

HA HA HA HA
2 weeks from now you will be quite seasoned. 4 weeks from now you'll wonder why you were ever worried. 1 week from now you'll probably still be shitting from the culture shock, or the change in food. I'm excited and nervous for you. It will be grand. Steph and I still aren't quite used to indonesia. The people are far more agressive than Thailand and Laos. See you in SE Asia!
12th July 2008

Faith
You are going to have a great time. All your nervousness will peak at Bangkok airport then slowly diminish. Within a week you feel relaxed, excited, transcendent, revitalized. If I´m wrong, I´ll buy the first round whern we get back! mike
12th July 2008

Good Luck
Kris; its not unusual for you to feel the way you do. Once. you get there things will look different. Just enjoy yourself and be careful. Love ya.
12th July 2008

WOW!!
Kristin, What an amazing adventure .... Have a wonderful time!! Danielle
12th July 2008

Wow
First of all..I'm very impressed with the packing for a 6 week journey. I'm packing for my ONE week cruise and I am having a hard time fitting into two large suitcases! You are in the air now, and by the time you get on the ground, I will be out at sea, braving the waves of Hurricane Bertha (I'm trying to make my cruise sound adventurous...but I can't top elephant rides and mosquito nets). Anyway, if I happen to miss you while you have access to a computer, have a great few days in Bankok and enjoy your trip to Cambodia. Please be careful! Love u. xo
12th July 2008

Too much fun
Thai KHo, You better not have too much fun before I get there. Be safe and calm...I'll be there to take care of you soon. Uh that back pack looks a little full. I hope you upped the amount of clothes you brought. I have a feeling you will be asking to borrow mine! Hope you survived the flight (remember that is the hardest part for you). I have a few fun toys that will keep us entertained. You will love some of the gadgets! See you soon! Thai Teenie OUT
12th July 2008

and your off!
love your before pictures..really sets the mood:) I have butterflies in my stomach for you. I cannot even imagine that plane ride..yikes! I am proud of you and to think you hate to fly. Have fun.. I am waiting for that first true travel blog.

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0863s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb