Safely Arrived!


Advertisement
Published: April 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post


Toby and Jonny waiting for plane to Newark
Well, after an emotional a-bientot, I boarded my first flight at Heathrow to Newark, and after a 4 hour lay-over, I boarded the connecting flight to Albany. Hiring my car was a scary experience - it seems the Americans' love of the English accent can work against you! Having never driven an automatic vehicle, never driven in the States; or the righthand side of the road for that matter, and having not slept for nearly 24 hours, with jet-lag; I was 'treated' to an updgrade - a brand new veichle, never driven before!

With my faithful sat-nav, I got to my residence in one piece and was given a great welcome by Barbara and Steve; as well as their two dogs - Marcelle and (can't remember the female's name right now!) I can't recall at the moment the breed, but their big dogs, with dread-locks (except the female's still a pup!)

Drove to hunt for food last night - managed to find a gas station that was open and got a sandwich - felt very homesick and pretty much went straight to bed.



This morning, Barbara and Steve made me coffee, and I conversed with Steve

Our baby plane from Newark to Albany
for hours - a fascinating professor of dramatic arts. The accomodation is wonderful and it was such great weather that Steve and I went out to the garden with the dogs and drank coffee and played with the dogs.

I then went to a major supermarket to buy groceries (sounding American already!), and then did a dummy-run to Austen Riggs (where I work as of tomorrow) and generally drove around Great Barrington (nearest town - popn. 400) and Stockbridge (next town along, where Austen Riggs is). Came back - played with the dogs some more, skyped Matty and did some email business and entered this - my first blog entry! Aim is to do one a day - so keep posted!

Barb and Steve have invited me out to dinner with them tonight - an Indian restaurant in Great Barrington - looking forward to a good meal! Anyhow, lots of pics should be attached to this entry...

Hope all's well back home and I may see you on here tomorrow

Jonny xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



The house where I'm staying - I have the whole top floor! :)


My lounge


My bedroom


Cars at the back of the house - mine's the black one!


Woke up to this - Alford, MA.


My first grocery shop!


Great Barrington - my town!


Me in Stockbridge, MA!


My workplace!


My workplace!


29th April 2013

Very Impressive
Hi Jon, I really enjoyed your blog, and your pictures are great! The weather in Stockbridge looks lovely. I will try to show Mum your blog tonight (if I can get the link to work at home!) Enjoy your first day at work. Best Wishes, Dad
29th April 2013

Hello Jon
Hi Jon, The pics look great. Hope the first day at the centre went well. lots of love, Mum
29th April 2013

The first blog I've ever read ... 'cos I don't do boring! This is different...
Jon! Great news, great photos! This is exciting!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb