South on I-95 to Arlington


Advertisement
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Imposing old building in Brewer MEImposing old building in Brewer MEImposing old building in Brewer ME

Just across the Penobscot River from Bangor.
It is very nice indeed to have friends along the way. When I arrived in Chris and Sue's home in Eastham MA, on Cape Cod, I really felt I could let go and relax. So much so that I forgot to take photographs of the glorious evening light on the marshlands as we sat there eating high quality cheese and reminiscing. It was a lovely stay. We traded stories of Vikings. They had just returned from a visit to Iceland and I had visited the site of the first Viking settlement in the New World. We had fun comparing notes. Iceland sounds like a must visit place.

I had spent the previous night in Bangor ME, and had arrived at the Cape a little shaken by having to spend an hour underground trapped in traffic on I-95 in the middle of Boston. I didn't think the freeway would be jammed at midday, but it was. I was saved (psychologically) by another biker, who motored up behind me with a big smile and showed me how to beat the heat. He didn't make fun of me either. He was in his shades, open shirt, regular trousers and running shoes, riding a Harley. I had on my black heavily reinforced motorcycle zoot suit, closed faced helmet, heavy boots, with my top heavy bike ready to drop into the puddle of sweat below if I made a wrong move. We were going so slowly it was easy to talk. He eventually put me onto the HOV lane that allowed us to break free. Nice.

Next day I was lucky enough to catch Marshall before he took off on another of his long distance bicycle tours (this was 400 km in less than 36 hours or something crazy). We had a great lunch in downtown Warren RI -- hadn't had pizza in ages.

I then rode I-95 all the way to New York City before breaking down in a slobbering mess by the side of the road and slitting my tires. Well, I felt like it. What with the rain and the stop and go traffic (in the middle of the freeway!) I made it to Summit NJ by dark and collapsed at Daniel and Honor and Simon's home, soaked to the skin.

Next day was raining heavily again -- but the weather was running South to North. I headed home by the Western route through Harrisburg PA and Frederick MD, which I prefer anyway, and kissed I-95 an exuberant good bye never to return.

But I shall. The call of the road is too strong, even if it does include stretches on that infamous highway.

Arrived home on Saturday June 17th at 6:00pm, in time to make an important dinner party we had signed up for months in advance.

The bike had 4,965 mi on the clock for this trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



21st June 2017

Welcome home
Welcome home from another special adventure. I look forward to hearing more about the trip.
21st June 2017

Welcome home
Welcome home from another special adventure. I look forward to hearing more about the trip.
21st June 2017

Thanks!
Thanks for taking us along with you. Glad to hear you took the western route past Harrisburg. I took that last fall and thoroughly enjoyed the scenery and the absence of traffic.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb