Oma


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Shattucks/Shermans spent the evening at home. Sara made pesto pasta and potato salad, and the guys barbequed some food outside. Sara's friend, Vicky, came with her family, including her mother (whom everyone called, "Oma").

After dinner, I struck up a conversation with Oma. I told her how we called my great-grandma Oma, and I asked her if she was from Germany. She didn't look German, so I expected her to tell me no (I thought she'd have a story for me on how "Oma" is a name that's used in multiple countries or something). I was surprised when she said yes. In fact, she told me she was born in Germany. She told me her family's Jewish, and she left Germany when she was 13, in 1939. Oma went on to tell me that people helped her and her sister escape to Switzerland because they were children. Her parents weren't able to get out of Germany until 1940. Once her parents were able to escape, they all went to England. She explained to me that there was a large influx of Jewish immigrants to England; in order to deal with these immigrants, they were put in concentration camps. Her parents were in the English concentration camps. I'd never heard of those (a quick Google search confirmed their existance). Eventually, they were able to leave and immigrated to the United States.

It was an unbelievable story--one I wish I'd gotten to hear more of. Unfortunately, Oliver (in my arms) started crying to go to bed, so I had to leave. I wished her a happy Fourth of July. Although our country is guilty of our own abuses (including our Japanese "internment camps"), I felt happy that we were a safe haven for her family during World War II. For being just a few hundred years old, it seems our country has a rich history. Our citizens come from such a diverse set of circumstances and backgrounds, and I'm glad I got to hear such an interesting and successful one today, our nation's independence day. Happy 4th, Oma!



Advertisement



5th July 2010

OMA!!
That is an amazing story! It kinda reminds us that we have a lot ot be thankful for! My mom just became an Oma!
5th July 2010

Thank you.
Thank you for sharing this wonderful story with us Becky. Wow! A child that cries because he wants to go to bed!! xo, ag

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb