East Coast Summer Trip (Boston, Massachusetts) Day 11 2005


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
July 13th 2005
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 11!

I headed over to the New England Aquarium for a stroll through the tanks and then some whale watching. The aquarium itself is nice with plenty of things to see. My favorites were the dreaded jellyfish, the awesome turtles, and the leafy sea dragons. The sea dragons looked like weeds being blown way by a sea current.

The penguin exhibit was also pretty cool. Its amazing to see the difference between the dorkish/doltish penguins on land and then watching them glide through the water like underwater ballerinas.

Afterwards, I went on a whale-watching trip that guaranteed whales or your money back! I got to see right wales I guess. Mostly it was just their humps going in and out of the water. So I guess I wouldn’t be getting my money back. Still I can imagine where tales of sea serpents would come from just by watching the wales going in and out of the water. Right whales don't breach the water like we see in all those videos of humpback whales so the sightings weren't as spectacular as one would of wished.

Its my last night in Boston as well. I leave for Canada
JellyfishJellyfishJellyfish

I got stung by one before, not one of my favorite memories.
tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

PenguinsPenguins
Penguins

Just there....hanging out.
Sea TurtleSea Turtle
Sea Turtle

Mr. Turtle just glided through the water very comfortably.
Leaving Boston BehindLeaving Boston Behind
Leaving Boston Behind

Off to deeper waters to whale watch.
Whale WatchingWhale Watching
Whale Watching

Apparently there's a whale there.


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb