Boston


Advertisement
Published: December 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 42.984, -70.7513

I Got a Morrison Visa (US green card) which I had to validate but then never used it as C. didn't get one. So stayed with a friend (Ms. LMcG) in Needham with her family, very nice people.
L's dad took me to Museum of Fine Arts at 465 Huntington Ave (Back Bay) which was good, had everything from Modern Amercian like Hopper to Impressionists like Degas & Gauguin & has some magnificent asian & ancient Egyptian stuff & when I asked him didn't he think it should be in Egypt in a museum he said he had never thought about it before but that I was probably right.
Myself & L spent a good bit time driving - past Harvard/Cambridge & all over. And we also went to Salem which was very interesting & has re-enactments of the witch trails etc.
Also went to Waterfront to Boston Tea party ship & museum( Charles River) while L was at work, Quincy Market, did the freedom trail - saw Paul Revere house (Boston's last surviving seventeenth-century house), and they took me to a big family (Irish Italian American) gathering where one of her cousins had someting to do with a big US soap like 'The bold & the beautiful' or something & was good craic.
Remember seeing the movie of the Ike & Tina story 'What's love got to do with it?'in the cinema & L's friend having theatrical histrionics in car on way home about a guy - so crazy was she I thought she was acting but no how wrong I was.
Met my own 1st cousin was there for the summer & worked in Tower Records.
We played pool, hung with 2 other of her friends who had all been to Ireland so I knew them, did some drinking (but Needham is a dry county) & had difficulty getting my passport accepted as ID as it was hand written - cheeky buggers. Had more cinnoman based food in diners. Went of course to the Cheers bar - which is tiny - where some guy told me he was Irish too & I was like how come you accent is so American already & he said my grandparents came here in 180X so I am Irish like you - No you are not!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb