Fall Colours


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland
November 7th 2006
Published: November 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

One of the things that we really don't experience in Australia, is Autumn colours (or as they call it here in the US- "fall"). There are of course some trees which are deciduous- many I think that are introduced species, but most of our trees are Eucalypts and therefore, are evergreen trees. I had heard so much about the firey colours of "fall" in the US and Canada, and last year, when I started to see the odd leaf change in Florida, I mentioned to Clinton that it might be a good idea for us to drive up into the Carolina's to check out the trees along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Unfortunately, I didn't realise that the few leaves I was seeing change in Florida were the odd confused ones. The trees change gradually across the American continent. From what little I know, they change first in the North, due to the ground getting cold there earlier. By the time I was seeing leaves changing in Florida, they had all fallen up North, and so last year I was way too late! We never saw the same display in Florida, due (I think) to it not getting cold enough for a
CalmCalmCalm

I'd like to go back to this spot in a couple of weeks and see how different it looks once the trees are bare.
prolonged period of time and also because many of the species of trees there are pines or palms.

Anyway, I was determined not to miss it this year! We were extremely busy moving house during the peak of the fall colours, so I wasn't able to take my time with my photography of the event. Hopefully the few shots I've grabbed are a bit of a glimpse of the beauty we witnessed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb