One step closer....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Frederick
January 5th 2011
Published: January 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's true that I'm getting closer to being in Costa Rica. Today I flew to Maryland via Salt Lake City from Redmond OR. There's been a slight glitch, not with my Costa Rica Plans but with my plans on staying with my sister and her family in Mt Airy Maryland until leaving for Costa Rica. My sister Judy, her husband Tom and their youngest son Ryan all came down with a stomach virus on Monday, so after researching how highly contagious these viruses are and how long they can remain contagious I decided not to push my luck and rather stay in a motel in Frederick rather than in their house. The idea of leaving for this trip to Costa Rica that I've been planning for 6+ months not feeling well just was not acceptable. My sister and her husband Tom still picked me up at the airport and brought me to my motel room to get checked in. We even fit in a mediocre meal at Olive Garden.

It looks like I'll be relaxing my concerns somewhat about the virus germs and join my sister and her whole family at their house on Saturday before she takes me to stay at Margie's that evening so we can leave for Costa Rica on Sunday morning.

I should note that the motel I'm staying in is an Extended Stay Hotel. So far it seems pretty nice, clean, compact with a kitchenette (being gluten-free often means it's best to do your own cooking)...of course I've only been in my room for an hour! But their prices are reasonable....way better than the Marriott of course, which was another option I had.

As much as I love the opportunity to spend time with my sister and her family and our mom, my main focus is getting to CR for La Pura Vida!

More later,
Barb





Advertisement



6th January 2011

Welcome!
Even though our welcome mat here at the Tuccinardi house is tainted with germs, we still welcome her to Maryland. And it's a good thing that she isn't staying here-Ryan has a horrible cold! He has missed several days this week due to the flu and now the cold is keeping him home. So, although Barb and I aren't really together, at least she's in the same time zone! Ha!
18th January 2011

so is everyone healthy now in your
home? I know you went on antibiotics recently. Are you over the hump? And is Ryan all better? Did Tom stay healthy?
18th January 2011

the same time zone was nice but I
hope for more in March!

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb