BACK IN U.S.A.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Bowie
December 29th 2013
Published: December 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post




BACK IN U.S.A







Over the holidays I expected to stay in Vietnam. There was a meditation class I had hoped to attend. That could not happen. With no other plans, I thought of going home for a couple of weeks. Once I was headed that way, I felt my time in Vietnam was done. "Something" told me I was ready to leave. I had a wonderful stay, yet most advantages were behind me, and the drawbacks (every situation has at least a few) would continue. There were no major problems, but the joy was not what it had been.







I leave mentioning some recent memorable moments.







At school I walked down the hall and noticed a whiff of incense. Another teacher nearby said yes, there’s the prayer room. I thought he was joking. The door is identical to offices nearby. There is incense only on special days, so I had not noticed before. There is a picture of Ho Chi Minh, universally and affectionately known as “Uncle” and honored as everyone’s ancestor. Food, flowers, cigarettes, and money offerings were there.







Teaching English was my main activity. It takes great effort for some to make the right sounds. Some examples are TRUCK can sound something like CHORT, EYES like AISH, and not making final sound so NOSE is NO. But the smiles, or outright laughs, when I attempt words in Vietnamese make it clear why it is so difficult, the languages are so different.







There is a different sense of approriate. I was asked about my age and finances a lot, by people of all ages and connections to me. Personal space is small. Friends of the same gender, of all ages, hold hands. Much friendlier, more intimate than elsewhere. Traffic lights are only in busy areas, and only seem to be suggestions. Motorbike drivers especially take them casually. Cars obey somewhat more. Lane markings are just possibilities for drivers, even from oncoming traffic around blind curves. If streets are crowed motorbikes use the sidewalk or go in the opposite direction. It does not seem to bother those walking; they barely notice. Drivers of cars, bikes, and motorbikes are often texting.







More than one person said something about being sorry when I said I was not married. Since I had mentioned children they may have thought I was a widow.







In other countries where toilet facilities are rare (but is only true in a few areas here) it is not unusual to see people relieve themselves discreetly. Several times I have noticed people responding to the call—with no discretion. Finding an obstruction would not have been difficult but that did not seem necessary. Once I was at a park with the invariable lovely landscaping but there was a distinct urine hint when the wind blew.







It’s been a great opportunity to learn about one place. Leaving early was not in my plans, but I appreciate the time I had and look forward to what will come next. Meanwhile I am grateful my daughter has room in her house for me. Not sure how long I will be in (cold) Maryland, but expecting it will lead to great things in 2014.







For each of you I wish joy, peace, and wonder throughout the New Year.




Advertisement



30th December 2013

BACK IN U.S.A.
As I have told you, this was a true blessing for you. We are glad that you are back.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb