Inner Harbour and the snow


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Baltimore » Inner Harbor
February 28th 2015
Published: March 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

I was in Baltimore for a couple of days.

It started to snow heavily on the second day, towards the afternoon. Instead of being at home and staying warm, the adventure bug in me, tempted me to go outside and experience the snowfall. I was also curious of finding out how the Inner Harbour would look like amidst all that snow.

I stepped out of the home, waited for a while and saw the Charm City Circulator bus come by. Once I boarded the bus, I reached the Inner Harbour after some time.

There was snow all over. Almost everything that I could see was white with snow. It was windy too. I opened my mouth and could feel the flakes fall into it. The path, the seats on the side, the boats and even the water at Inner Harbour was not visible. Snow had enveloped everything.

I walked up to the pier. Due to the snow, it was a bit difficult to tell where the pier ended and the water began. Hence, I had to be careful, not to fall into the water.

I decided to take my gloves off to take a few photographs. That is when I realised how cold it really was. Within a few moments, my hands began to freeze.

I walked back, taking a few more photographs on the way.

Then, with my gloves back on and the photos safe in my camera and with the contentment of having seen the Inner Harbour in such a different form; I went to a restaurant to have my lunch. The room heating and the warm lunch made me feel better.

Whenever you have such extreme weather conditions, public transportation takes a hit. I wasn't surprised when I came to know that the Charm City buses were not plying. So, I thought of spicing things up a bit and decided to walk all the way back, in the heavy snow.

On the way back, I saw a van that was stuck in the snow. Two people were trying to push it and help the driver take it out of the snow. Since, they were struggling, I decided to join them and help them out.

It wasn't easy to push, as it was cold and the surface was slippery. But nonetheless, we were able to pull it off.



I continued my walk thereafter and was back home after a few minutes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



4th March 2015

' ARJUN- THESNOW MAN'
NATURE IS THE SOURCE OF SUSTENANCE FOR ALL HUMANS ON THE EARTH AND IT TRANSCENDS IN DIFFERENT FORMS AND THE SNOW IS ONE SUCH. EACH F THESE FORMS BRINGS OUT A DIFFERENT BEING FROM WITHIN TO WHICH THY RESPOND DIFFERENTLY. THE SOCIABLE TRAITS OF HIM I OBSERVED N VIRGINIA WHEN A GROUP OF PEOPLE CAUGHT UP IN EXTREME CONDITIONS OF SNOW WHEN WE WERE IN A BID TO WRIGGLE OUT THEMSELVES FROM THE NATURE"S FURY.THE MAN CAN BE EXTREMELY SELFISH, YET THE OTHERS SO FORTHRIGHT AND HELPING. OUR SNOW EXPERIENCE COULD BE READ IN MY BLOG-MY FIRST SNOW IN AMERICA AND THE SNOW FALL AND AFTER IN AN EXHAUSTIVE FORM. YOU ARE ONE WHO IS ADVENTUROUS AND YOU HAVE CAPTURED THE NATURE WHEN IT ADORNS THE CLOTHE OF SNOW, PRETTY WELL!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb