Heading to New Harbor, stopping in Bath


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
August 15th 2016
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 43.8775, -69.4999

Editor's NOTE: Normally Glenn proof-read's my blog and does some major editing, however I am not asking him to do this for me, since he needs a break. So bear with me if there are misspelled words and the grammar is incorrect. Thanks for reading.

Also, I've changed the format for the most recent entry to be on top.

Had an excellent night of sleep. I feel like my cold is getting better. For the past 7 days, I have been coughing, and had such a bad cold that I couldn't talk. But today and especially this morning, I could actually care on a conversation for the first time.

Vicki's home is totally CUTE. She has it decorated absolute adorable. Its got that "cabin feel", country and even "old timey" feel to it. She pointed out some thing that I hadn't noticed, such as the tennis racks that Henry use to play with, or Dr. Cooper's old wooden skis that were nailed to the wall. It would take a good full week to observed everything. Our accommodations were downstairs in the Air BnB room. Yes, Vicki lists the guest room on Air BnB.

Karen needed to go to another Greek Orthodox church,
because today had something to do with Mary. So, I looked up on line that there was a church in Lewiston, Maine, just 45 minutes south of the Coopers house and on our way to our next location - New Harbor.

We got up and had a light breakfast with Henry and Vicki. Glenn packed the RAV 4 with our luggage and got the water bottles out of the freezer for our igloo. We drove the 45 minutes south to Lewiston and dropped Karen off. She said that she'd probably be ready by 10:30am. I quickly googled a place to get internet, so I could answer some emails and look up some more information for our upcoming stays.

We found a Tim Horton. Drove there. It was boarded up. Guess it didn't make it in Maine, so we quickly decided to go to Duncan Donuts. I did some research on-line for a few minutes, then noticed at 10:10am, Karen had texted me the words "Done". So I quickly stored my computer away and Dad and I drove back to the church.

Karen was standing outside of the church visiting with 2 people (couple from Waco, TX). They use to live in Maine and were up here visiting again. Karen didn't mind that we were a tad late, since she was visiting this nice folks.

I continued to drive. I punched in "Harriet Tilley Cantor" address into "Betsy". Then Glenn texted Harriet to see if we could just drop by and see them for a little bit. She quickly replied saying that she was shopping with a friend in Portland and wouldn't be back until later in the afternoon. We told her to have fun.

We needed to fill up with gas. And we needed to get a salad for Karen at Wal-mart. I also purchased a "Maine" t shirt for Glenn. He later tried it on - fits perfectly.

We drove to Bath, Maine, and found a round metal table and 4 chairs just on a side street in downtown Bath. Perfect location. Actually, we were looking at Library Park, but didn't see any picnic tables there. 'Karen ate her salad, and Glenn and I had chicken salad sandwich. I even chopped in some grapes. Delicious.

Bath is a city known for it's ship building. Nice little town. The quaint stores were unique. One book store we walked into was decorated in bark, little houses and had their books displayed.

Afterwards I noticed there was a Letterbox just around the corner at the Chocolate Church. Karen and I walked there. Glenn found the clue and I recorded my find on the steps of the church. Nice Letterbox. (Side note - Karen is wanting me to plant a letter box on the Holy Cross Seminary).

Oh, we've been on a look-out for a bicycle for Thomas. As we drove down the hiway, I noticed a house that had a "garage sale", ,more like a junk sale. There was a bicycle for sale. We turned around and Karen and Dad thought it was a great deal. They purchased it, then returned 2 hours later to pick it up.

We proceeded to our next stop - 3 nights in a row here at the Laughton House. I found out about this place from Paulie Heath, who was down on Intermissions in February in Guatemala. Her sister-in-law and brother run this place. A cottage and 2 small cabin (High Tide). Its a small 1 room cabin, small bath and living area. Karen is staying on the futon.

Glenn grilled out chicken on the new B-B-que pit. Tasted really good.

Oh, this place as Wifi. I wasn't expecting that. So, I've been updating my journey for the past hour or so. Glad to have it all up to date.

As per our health - I think I am finally over with my cold/sore throat and coughing. It has been rough. can finally carry on a descent conversation without coughing, however my voice is still rather low. Glenn now is fighting the cold. It is because it is VERY WARM up here in New England, and when you walk into stores, they have the AC on HIGH. I got my cold in Ohio where we stayed and the air was blowing right on me. Then it's been hot as we have traveled.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb