Back home again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
April 8th 2009
Published: April 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am finally back home in Maine.The return has been somewhat anticlimactic,since the weather here has not been very nice for spring skiing-especially after being out west.During my last week in Ketchum,my world class skier friend Crystal came out.She seemed to thoroughly enjoy Sun Valley,even though it does not have the extreme skiing available in places like Jackson Hole.But then JH doesn't have the other attributes of SV,like an opera recital we went to-a wonderful soprano and tenor singing in front of a huge fireplace in the new touring center lodge for about 100 people!It was unlike any venue I have ever experienced.
WE left SV on the 5th of March and drove to Bend ,Oregon to visit my brother Jim and his wife Tina.About 100 miles out of Ketchum,on a very deserted road-the RV died!After trying to figure out what was wrong,I finally called a tow truck-knowing that towing the RV would be difficult(one has to disconnect the driveshaft,etc.) and expensive.Mike,the towtruck driver,said he was also a mechanic and could take a look,if I wanted.Well-within 1 1/2 hrs-he had looked,gone onto town for parts and replaced the entire ignition system(coil,rotor,distributor cap and plugs) and we were on our way.What a Godsend!We proceeded to Bend without any further problems and spent 4 days visiting and skiing at Mt. Bachelor,which had a ton of snow.I skiied with Jim and T,who have just taken up skiing(Jim again and T for the first time),while Crystal blasted around the whole mountain.It was a great visit and the conclusion of a very successful trial run with the RV-7,000 miles without any major problems.She is now parked in Bend,waiting to go to Alaska next summer.We have returned to Maine for what is usually great spring skiing(although it has materialized yet- gray and rainy).I am planning to drive my Boxster to Fla. in May and go out to my boat in the Bahamas for about 2 months,as is my habit.Once I am under way,I will send some further blogs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



8th May 2009

Great Post! :)
Nice! it is a Good experience.. Update me more,,

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb