Mad May!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
May 30th 2007
Published: May 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, it has been a very busy and hectic May but I have been able to escape the land of Sargent Center twice for a few weekends away. Yipeee! My first outing was a white water rafting trip to the Forks, Maine. This was my second time rafting here and it was totally awesome. The only downside was that when we arrived there was still snow on our campsite and the water temperature was 35 degrees. The weather had been so bad that this meant that we were unable to raft the Dead river on Saturday as the road to get there still had 4 feet of snow and was not passable in a normal vehicle. This meant that we rafted the Kennebec river twice. I decided to go in the front of the raft on Saturday and enjoyed getting completly drowned but managed to stay in the raft - just. I also just avoided hypothermia as the weather deicded to hail on us as well. We found a nice lodge to dry our clothes and warm up by a fire before heading to the local pub - Marshall's to celebrate Cinco de Mayo oh and to grab some dinner as someone had forgotten to pack the food! Sunday was much more agreeable as the sun came out and it was at least 10 degrees warmer. Also I decided to sit one seat back so I didn't get quite as soaked. Fun, fun, fun!

Last weekend was Memorial weekend which meant that I got an extra day off work and it was also my birthday. My boyfriend Kyle and I decided to head to Acadia National Park in Maine. It was wonderful. Beautiful scenery, fantastic weather and only a few bugs. We camped at the park and did several hikes, including the shore path in Bar Harbor, the Beehive (which involves climbing on rocks and hanging onto iron railings for dear life!)and the Bubbles. We also did a bike ride along a fire road where we were hoping to see some moose. Still no luck! They have eluded me for almost 2 years and I now only have a few weeks left to try and see one.

May also saw a visit from my cousin David and his wife Lynn so I enjoyed being take out for some delicious meals and catching up on all the gossip from home via OK magazine plus jelly babies and Cadbury's chocolate! Only a few days left of school program now before I start working for the conference department for a month and then go off on my travels. Thanks for all the birthday wishes! Will send another update soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb