My First Blog


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Portland
May 17th 2011
Published: May 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

New Interview ShoesNew Interview ShoesNew Interview Shoes

The new interview shoes I picked up in Freeport on the way to the Boston Career Fair.

Accepted Day



Hello! Let me give you a little background information on how I got this great opportunity. In the Spring Semester of my Senior year at the University of Maine I attended the Engineers Week, Boston Career Fair. My mother and I drove down in February to see if I could land myself a job in Boston. Let me inform you we did make a stop in Freeport, ME and got a great new pair of shoes. The career fair started and I made my rounds to the companies booths. After leaving my resume with what seemed like 100 tables I finally was ready to leave. I walked past the Rensselaer booth and a man grabbed my arm. He introduced himself as Rob Sheftel, he was the enrollment manager for RPI. He began to explain that he had watched me talk to a few engineering professionals and he was very impressed with my interviewing skills. He started giving me information about RPI and explained how I would be great for the school. He went on and on about how they study in Rome, Italy and Shanghai, China. I was hooked! He asked for my resume and we set up an information interview the following week. I took my flyers back to Maine with me and I knew that this was what I had always dreamed of doing once graduating from college. Can you image a little girl from Maine getting her MBA and traveling to ROME AND SHANGHAI!

Rob and I chatted the following week and he gave me more information about the program and how to apply. They also waved the application fee for me. I began the application process almost immediately. Chet Rock and Per Garder wrote great letters of recommendations for me and I was feeling positive about my chances for getting accepted. Brian helped me edit my admission essay so I didn't sound like a silly engineer trying to write a paper. All I had left to do was graduate and take my GMAT.

RPI wanted to visit the University of Maine and present about their school and program. I helped host the event with SWE and ASCE. We had a great turn out and got free pizza. Donald Pendagast was the RPI representative and bought me a cake since the event was on my birthday. It tasted great, THANK YOU RPI! Hopefully the event will help more University of Maine students apply for this program some day.

A few months later it was time for me to take my GMAT. The week before the GMAT I had to take the Fundamentals of Engineering Exam which is an 8 hour test! My brain was still recovering from that horrible experience and I ended up not doing as well as I would have liked on my GMAT. I was really upset and wasn't sure if I would get accepted. There was no time for me to take it again so I just had to sit and wait.

I graduated May 7th, 2011 with a B.S. in Civil and Environmental Engineering. I had still not heard from RPI so I started applying for jobs again. I interviewed with Lane Construction (Bangor, ME), Competitive Energy Services (Portland, ME), Triumvirate Environmental (Boston, MA) and McCormick Taylor Inc. (Baltimore, MD). It looked like I might get a job.

On Tuesday May 17th I drove down with Sharon Barker and Mary Cathcart to share my experiences with Maine NEW Leadership on the USM campus. I have been an intern with the program since the
Graduation from the University of MaineGraduation from the University of MaineGraduation from the University of Maine

Getting inducted into the Francis Crowe Society
beginning of the summer. During the advisory meeting my phone started vibrating. I went to shut if off when I noticed it was Rob Sheftel's number. I excused myself from the meeting and answered the phone. Rob asked if I was sitting down so I was confused whether it was going to be good or bad news. He then said. "Imagine you are sitting in a little cafe in Rome, Italy! Congratulations you have been accepted into RPI's Internationals Scholars Program!" I also got a scholarship out of the deal! I was so excited and started jumping up and down in the middle of the lobby. I called my Mother and Brian immediately and started crying, happy tears. I only had a few seconds to speak with them since I had to get back to my meeting but they were just as excited as I was! Sharon and Mary knew something exciting happened when I stepped back in the room and they let me announce the good news after the meeting. It was great to be able to share this moment with some truly inspiring women.

The two hour drive back to Orono took no time at all for the news of me getting accepted spread fast. The only sad news that come out of the day was the I could not longer be an intern for Maine NEW Leadership because I was leaving for Rome during the program. 😞

The next couple of days have flown by. There are thousands of forms to sign, visas to apply for, shots to take, etc. and I still need to move out of my apartment! All in 18 DAYS!!!! I have to say that today might be one of the most memorable moments in my life so far. I am now a graduate student at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and will have my MBA in one year!

Keep updated on my travels on this blog site!

Love,

Stacey Marie 😱






Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb