It's My Birthday


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Millinocket
June 18th 2013
Published: July 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Baxter State Park at 7:30 meaning I was asked to leave my sleeping bag at 4:30... I had forgotten that 4:30 comes 2 times a day and this one kind of sucked but I was also so ready to get this show on the road. We stopped in Millonecket the largest town on the way to Baxter. I was instructed to purchase 2 extra ramon noodles and some pop tarts. For $125 Phil picked me up in Bangor, put me up for one night, imparted as much wisdom he could (he has through hiked the AT 3 times), and carted my ass to Baxter State Park and had me at the gate at 7:00 AM when they opened.

The country looks rugged and familiar. My first trip to Maine and yet this could have easily been Minnesota, except for the size of the hills. Todays goal is about 10 miles of full body contact hiking with 8200 feet in elevation change to the top of Katahdin. I am hiking up Abol trail a shorter trail yet very steep after I cleared the tree line every foot forward was a foot up. It was like climbing into the bed of Mark's Ford F250 for 2 miles. The view forward is rock, boulders, and blue blazes. The view behind me was awesome. It was a clear day and I can see for miles.

I finely get to the the top of Katahdin about 1:00, already 2 hours slower than my expectation but worth every step. I take pictures, put on my jacket as the wind is cold and watch a cloud (fog if you are in it) pass below my perch. I walk down the Hunt trail, officially starting my hike of the AT at 2:00, trading blue blazes for the never-ending white blaze all the way to Georgia. At one point I slipped on the moutain and fell face first, but with my 'cat like reflexes' (geriatric cat) I was not hurt and since I was already on the ground I took time to grab a drink of water, eat a pop-tart, and rest. The hike down was not as steep but 2 times more difficult. I am exhausted and even after I got to the treeline I had miles of climbing down out of the back of that pickup over and over and over. Full body contact hiking. My feet hurt, I am cold and it is getting dark. Everyone I had met have already passed me on the way down. I am alone and it is getting dark. Thankfully I had brought my head lamp. I had left my back pack at the ranger station, and exchanged it for a smaller day pack. So I only have 5 or so pounds on my back. So I press on on on... it takes me until 10:30 to get back to Baxter Park and thankful I had rented a Leen-to for the night. I find the ranger station, get my pack and check in... It a little un settling when the park ranger asked me how many more people are on the mountain.



I get to my leen-to I am not hungry only tired and cold. I change into dry long underwear, put on a jacket my beanie and crawl deep into my sleeping bag. I was satisfied with the day, 50 years old and felt like it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb