Springer Maine


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Millinocket
June 17th 2013
Published: July 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Made 54 Hours on the Bus to Bangor. I can't say that air travel is better only faster and God willing I have more time than money. Phil from 100 Mile Wilderness Outfitters picked me up and brought me to his cabin in Springer. No running water, and a fancy out house with cushioned toilet seat that makes a very distinct bodily function noise appropriate for the visit. The cabin has 2 big porches on the east and west sides with rustic looking chairs comfortable for watching the sun beginning or ending it's daily journey. The well is finished except for the pump, so no showers. The upstairs loft is missing railing but has 2 spaces that I imagine sleeping or storage. The master bed room has a french style door facing the west and open onto the porch. The kitchen is functional, the living room is rustic and roomy. I like it.

Phil took time to look through my pack and pulled a pound of 'unnecessary' items for hiking the 100 mile wilderness. He is concerned as I am out of shape and looking to shed 20 or 30 pounds on the journey. Several times he suggested alternative activities to celebrate my commemoration of 1/2 century. The more he talked the more resolved I am to make this attempt. I consider myself warned.

Advertisement



12th July 2013

Words
Dennis, Good to hear from you, I know you can do it. You are well on your way to meet your goal. As always let me know if you need anything and please keep posting your progress as you go. Chicho

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb