Travel and Other Great Quotes (Jan to June) 2018


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Freeport
July 1st 2018
Published: July 2nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Let's start out with a few from some of you, my loyal readers, and faithful friends:



Freedom is hammered out on the anvil of discussion, dissent, and debate. Hubert Humphrey








An investment in knowledge pays the best interest. Benjamin Franklin








In the case of dissension, never dare to judge until you've heard the other side. Euripides








You can tell if a man is clever by his answers. You can tell whether a man is wise by his questions. Naguib Mahfouz.



Nobel Prize Laureate 1988






You must speak straight so your words may go as sunlight to our hearts. Cochise Apache Chief




Now back to some that I have found:




"Once you have traveled, the voyage never ends. The mind can never break off from the journey." - Pat Conroy



"Too often travel, instead of broadening the mind, merely lengthens the conversations." - Elizabeth Drew



"I have found out that there ain’t no surer way to find out whether you like people or hate them than to travel with them." - Mark Twain (I hope my buddy, Mr. Mike sees this!)



"When preparing to travel, lay out all your clothes and all your money. Then take half the clothes and twice the money." - Susan Heller




"To travel is to discover that everyone is wrong about other countries." - Aldous Huxley




"How sweet it is to love someone, how right it is to care.
How long it’s been since yesterday, what about tomorrow
and what about our dreams and all the memories we share?" from "Poems, Prayers and Promises" by John Denver








"You may say I'm a dreamer, But I'm not the only one

I hope someday you'll join us, And the world will live as one" from Imagine by John Lennon (you notice a John theme here?)







"Nothing compares to the simple pleasure of a bike ride" - John F. Kennedy



"It is by riding a bicycle that you learnt he contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills, and coast down them" - Ernest Hemingway



"A good laugh and a long sleep are the two best cures for anything" - old Irish proverb



"We must either learn to live together as brothers or we are all going to perish together as fools." - Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr.



"I'm a big believer in winging it. I'm a big believer that you're never going to find perfect city travel experience or the perfect meal without a constant willingness to experience a bad one. Letting the happy accident happen is what a lot of vacation itineraries miss, I think, and I'm always trying to push people to allow those things to happen rather than stick to some rigid itinerary." - Tony Bourdain



"The idea that some lives matter less is the root of all that is wrong with the world." — Dr. Paul Farmer, Partners in Health




"Would you like an adventure now, or shall we have our tea first?" - Peter Pan






"Do more things that make you forget to check your (cell) phone" - Anon.



"Great things never came from comfort zones" - Anon.



"If you are always trying to be normal, you will never know how amazing you can be" Maya Angelou



"Don't quit your daydream" - Dave Bouskill



"All we have to decide is what to do with the time given to us" - J.R.R. Tolkien



"THE JOURNEY IS MY HOME" - Muriel Rukeyser



“I drink Champagne when I'm happy and when I'm sad. Sometimes I drink it when I'm alone. When I have company I consider it obligatory. I trifle with it if I'm not hungry and drink it when I am. Otherwise, I never touch it―unless I'm thirsty.” ― Lily Bollinger, (1899-1977), Bollinger Champagne





Susan B. Anthony, feminist and social reformer, once said that the invention of the modern bicycle “has done more to emancipate women than anything else in the world” and called it the “freedom machine".



"Travel changes you. As you move through this life and this world you change things slightly, you leave marks behind, however small. And in return, life-and travel-leaves marks on you." - recently deceased Tony Bourdain



"All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware." - Martin Buber



“Another well-known Paris landmark is the Arc de Triomphe, a moving monument to the many brave women and men who have died trying to visit it.” –Dave Barry



“Thanks to the interstate highway system, it is now possible to travel from coast to coast without seeing anything.” –Charles Kuralt




“The worst thing about being a tourist is having other tourists recognize you as a tourist.” –Russell Baker




And from one of my favorite philosophers: “You got to be careful if you don’t know where you’re going, because you might not get there.” –Yogi Berra




“San Francisco is like granola. Take away all the fruits and the nuts and all you have left are the flakes.” –Unknown




“Boy, those French. They have a different word for everything.” –Steve Martin




And to conclude the first half of 2018: “There is science, logic, reason; there is thought verified by experience. And then there is California.” –Edward Abbey








Note to all of you: I have been doing this for a number of years. I would love to hear from you about your favorites. I welcome your feedback as well. Have a great summer!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb