Camden, Maine: In which I climb Mt. Battie


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Camden
June 26th 2017
Published: June 27th 2017
Edit Blog Post

The day before and the day after my week of sailing, I was able to explore the town of Camden and a bit of Camden State Park. The town is a nice little town – good restaurants, tourist-y shops, nice walk and park along the shoreline. As I believe I already noted in a previous entry, it was also home, for a little while to Edna St. Vincent Millay, and it was here that she started writing her poetry.

On Sunday, I planned to climb Mt. Battie, as it was part of the state park easily accessible from town. What I had read about the trail told me it was steep and short. A sign at the beginning of the trail confirmed it was only a ½ mile to the summit. So I started up. As I went, the trail turned into more of a scramble up rocks, the trail marked with blue dots of paint. At times I found myself wondering, how is this a trail?

During one pause for breath, I heard crashing in the brush to my right. At first I wondered if someone ahead of me had fallen, but then out of the brush leapt two foxes, running right across the path, not five feet in front of me! I hoped that nothing larger was chasing them, and continued up.

At the top, my scramble was well rewarded with wonderful views of the town, harbor, and bay. Using the helpful maps, I was able to pick out almost every place we anchored on the Mercantile. There was, of course, an easier way up to the summit, but it was also much longer, so I took the same route back down – a much easier journey.



So ended my time in Maine. Now, on to Marblehead and Beverly, Massachusetts for more researching and Salem for a bit more typical tourism.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



29th June 2017

Beautiful
Thanks for sharing these pictures and your adventure! So beautiful!

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1111s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb