Acadia National Park, Maine


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Bar Harbor
September 13th 2022
Published: September 17th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Thunder Hole ANPThunder Hole ANPThunder Hole ANP

The Atlantic sea at Acadia National Park is mild in comparison to the wild Pacific Oceans of Oregon. While still dangerous and cold, don't get me wrong. One of the popular visiting areas is Thunder Hole where people come to hear the waves crash between the rocks making the sound of thunder. I was not impressed since Oregon coast range is lined with similar natural structures.
I spent 4 days and 3 nights in the Acadia National Park. I had never heard of it before but apparently is a very popular large park in this region. My first night was in the Schoodic area. I did a few hikes close to camp but was not overly impressed with this newly developed part of the park. The next morning I had reservations to drive the Cadillac Mountain top. My reservation was for 7:30 a.m. so the sun was up, a low layer of fog laid between the mountains, but the view was wide, far, and blue skies. My next two nights of camp was at Blackwood Campground. Many more driving loops, hiking trails and with that more people. I hiked to Bubble Rock, Jordan Pond, and Otter Creek. Really nice hikes, never more than a few miles each and climbing was a moderate level.

After so much hiking and driving I decided to take the Island Hopper (free) bus into Bar Harbor (or as the locals say "Ba Habah"). Bar Harbor is a hoping city! Many shops, restaurants, ice cream, arts, live music... I drove through once before and was over inundated by the amount of action, I felt relief taking the bus. I don't have to worry about driving, parking etc. I bought a sweatshirt, ate fish and chips, and wore my camera around my neck. I am a tourist and am not trying to hide it. It was a nice few hours but I was ready to get back into the woods where I belong.

My final night there was a forest service worker holding an educational lesson on rocks at the amphitheater. I am all about freebie things to do so I went. He was hyper focused on things that happed between 420-500 million years ago. I did have a couple beers in town so I was ...relaxed. But the whole time I kept thinking "and you think the bible is full of lies?". Sounded like a bunch of speculation and guessing, but it was good entertainment for the night. Honestly, I get more out of watching leaves turn color.

There were no showers at any of the campsites and solar shower bags like mine were not allowed. So after four days, I was ready to leave! The park is beautiful, well managed, and just the right amount of visitors. The only
Bubble Rock ANPBubble Rock ANPBubble Rock ANP

A nice older gentlemen offered to take my picture at the top of the Bubbles Rock trail. I had my hair up, sweating, trying to catch my breath. It wasn't that much of a hike, I just wasn't taking the workout very well. I tried playing it cool...but whew! What a trek. Why isn't anyone else up here having a difficult time?
part the staff is managing is Cadillac Mountain. It costs $6 and a person has to reserve a half hour slot for arrival. All done online. Having an America The Beautiful pass is a must. Luckily I got my military one before leaving home. There are optional public showers outside of the park a person can pay to use but that sounded gross to me. I could have stayed a full week hiking the various trails.

Life is better in hiking boots

Michelle


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Cadillac Mountain peak ANPCadillac Mountain peak ANP
Cadillac Mountain peak ANP

Cranberry Islands sprawled out below. A cruise ship passed by and I thought how luck I was to be here verses there.
Cadillac Mountain ANPCadillac Mountain ANP
Cadillac Mountain ANP

The heavy fog settled down between the mountains creating a clear view on a substandard weather day. I was very lucky.
Restroom stopRestroom stop
Restroom stop

Just outside of ANP was a lovely little cottage style restroom building, large parking lot, and the beach right across the road. Great stop to get out and stretch.


17th September 2022

Cranberry islands and sailboats
Great photos! Sailing the islands on a sailboat sounds like a bucket list item in the future. :)
17th September 2022

Maine state
Roosevelt Campobello International Park is were My sister in law worked here for many years before she passed away last year not sure how close u are to it! My relatives live in Lubec Maine
17th September 2022

Acadia
Lubec was a quaint little town that I adored. Another photographers dream! I had zero internet or power acess while there. I have since traveled back south to Great Pond where i have internet, showers, water and endless hot indoor showers!
24th September 2022

Acadia
So check that off my bucket list. Glad u made it to Maine. Hiking, sweating no shower not for me girlfriend. Why would they care about a solar shower in your campground? Enjoying your adventures.
24th September 2022

Acadia
I don't know Sandy. I left a review complaining about the shower situation. Otherwise all was well! A very beautiful place to visit.

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb