New Orleans


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana » New Orleans
January 16th 2015
Published: January 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I must say that on my bucket list of places to go, New Orleans has always been on the top of it. And when I say New Orleans I don't mean Bourbon Street or Mardi Gras, I mean I want to go there and experience the culture. I feel like you can't stay within the U.S. of A and get such a different culture than little old Jersey than to go on down to the south. I wanted to go to a place where people spoke English that I couldn't understand, ate gator off a stick, practiced Voodoo and Catholicism all in the same breath and drank Bloody Mary's morning, noon, and night.

This quest to experience a culture far different than Jersey without even leaving the states was made possible by none other than Derik. As per usual he attempted to surprise me with a trip down south but after the nagging and pestering when I realized he was keeping a secret broke him, my heart leaped for joy. Not because I broke my husband into divulging his masterful plan but because we were going to New Orleans!!!

I've had plenty of friends from the south. I worked with a handful of them and went to school with a few others, my best friend raved about the city and even my mom chimed in that it was pretty cool. Can a city that blasts jazz music all night long and folks who wear Saint's jersey all week long really disappoint? The obvious answer of course being NO!

We left our cozy little house in Jersey, where we remained indoors to avoid the harsh winds of winter and hopped on a plane where the temperature never dipped down below 60 (at least while we were there). The course of our five day trip was laid out nicely. There was plenty of food to be had, drinks to be drunk and tours to be taken. In between all of that there were Fat Cat's, Saint's game and more!

Despite the fact that our very first meal in New Orleans was suppose to be spent at Emeril's, our starving selves broke down and hopped over to a little joint across the street. What better way to start off your trip than with a Bottomless glass of Bloody Mary's and an omelet filled with alligator meat.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement


GeocachingGeocaching
Geocaching

in a tank top!


No More BeerNo More Beer
No More Beer

He's just playing, but it makes for a hilarious shot no?








Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb