Departure in a Deluge


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana » New Orleans
March 14th 2009
Published: March 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post



It was my plan to enjoy a bit of the St Patrick's Day parade on my last day in New Orleans. I couldn't resist one more parade and one more good-bye before making my final departure. Cem and I had planned to make at least Dallas on our first day of travel. But the Gods weren't with us. We woke up to an incessant downpour and fretted over how we were going to load up the car in such conditions. We both knew the contraption I bought for the top of the car was a dubious device at best. It's one of those tarp-like cargo carriers. I got it for 29.99 at Wal-Mart and had a bad feeling it wasn't waterproof which was ok when I was thinking most of our driving would be through Dry West. But I figured at least all my clothes in those nifty space bags would be ok. According to the commercial, they are definitely water-proof. It became apparent I would not make parade, which was ok, I had been many times before, and well its fun, but it also drags on and on because the Irish cultural group that organizes and marches in it are so drunk by the time they pass by where I stand with my friends in front of the Balcony Bar on Magazine, it has completely disintegrated. I also did not need any of the many cabbages tossed from the floats since I no longer had a kitchen. Yes - if you've never been to the New Orleans version of a St Patrick's Day Parade, they throw the ingredients of a traditional Irish boiled dinner often threatening major head injuries to any unwary or drunk parade-goers.

Cem and I said our final good-byes and were loading up by mid-afternoon. It was pouring. All my plans, organization and even my test run to make sure all shit fit in (and on) the car went out the window. We got soaking wet trying to figure out how to adjust the 8 million straps and buckles on the contraption and still not sure its on right, but we were beyond ready to be on the road. Again the Gods were not with us. A mile before the Bonnet Carre SPillway our car started making the most ominous whining sound. We both feared the worst - that something was wrong with the timing belt we had just replaced to the tune of $1200. Frankly, it was a scheduled maintenance repair I did not want to make, but Cem insisted as it was past due and we were making a long trip. Cem likes to play it safe and I respect that about him. When the car had been fixed earlier in the week and returned to me, it sounded different then too, so much that I worriedly called the mechanic at Midas and asked him about it. He insisted that the new noise my car makes is normal. Sufficiently reassured, I put any worry away until we hit that stretch of I-10 and panicked. Fortunately, the mechanic at Midas answered my phone call and agreed to look at the car. After 20 nerve wracking miles going over and back over the spillway, we made it back to the Metairie Midas. The mechanic jumped in the driver's seat and rode around with Cem to hear the awful noise. Now, I swear to God, you can ask Cem too - we didn't imagine the noise, but it would not make it for the mechanic. I immediately felt betrayed by my car. Both the mechanic and the manager convinced us that there was likely nothing wrong with the belts and the nosies we were hearing were normal. So with not a little trepidation, we got back in and drove west. Sure enough we hit 60 mph it started whining again. We figured out that the reason the it did not make the noise for the mechanic is you have to travelling steadily at 62 mph - not 60 or 65m but 62. I even got my head down on the floor boards with my feet in the air to make sure it was an engine sound and not some weird aero-dynamic effect sound from the contraption on our roof. Yep - it was the engine. and I'm convinced its something about that belt. We decided to press on however, not the least because we really had nowhere to go back to, and I was determined to not have to go back to NOLA for another good-bye - they were getting maudlin. We are now 150 miles east of Dallas, so far so good. Not sure how far we'll make it tonight, but were off to significant if rocky start.

Advertisement



16th March 2009

This is great! I thought you might still be in Nola but wasn't sure. I'm happy that you're finally on your way. Please keep posting!
21st March 2009

Portland Here we come
Yep, we made our exit at last. I know Portland is much further away than NOLA from FLA, but I bet there's better airfare deals and hope you can come visit. PDX is a cool town.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb