Trip to Louisiana


Advertisement
Published: December 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Buddy and IkeBuddy and IkeBuddy and Ike

Casey's dog Buddy is soooo gentle. Ike's only experience with another dog before this was his own family but he was quite comfortable with Buddy.
I left Albuquerque with Texas on my mind. I stopped over in Weatherford to visit with Janet and Garth Tayler but unfortunately, Garth had to go out of town so I missed him but had a pleasant visit and supper with Janet. On to Austin.
Beverley and Casey live in Austin, Texas so I made reservations in a very nice park there for five days. I hadn’t seen Bev since I was in California in April so we had a bit of catching up to do; they had not met Ike yet. We had a really nice visit; Casey did some great BBQ for us. I plan to go back during Bat Season so they can take me onto the river in one of their kayaks!
I stopped over in Bellville to visit the doctor and have lunch with a couple of friends. It is still very painful being there. I stayed at Stephen F. Austin where Wally and I had spent many happy camping hours, so there is a memory around every corner.
And on to Louisiana. Debbie’s children were anxious for me to get there so they count get acquainted with Ike. I had been a bit nervous that
Buddy Buddy Buddy

Buddy questioned why Beverley was holding Ike and not him
he would be a bit overwhelmed, but he really enjoys being with them all. Much more fun than with me 24/7. I arrived here in time for Halloween, Bev and Casey came through for Thanksgiving and Christmas. I was also able to go to all of the kid’s school Christmas programmes; which are always so enjoyable.
I had stayed in the Abita Springs Resort on my last visits here but the park has been sold so I could only stay for 2 weeks at a time. On my “week-out” I have stayed in the Fontainebleau State Park, which is beautiful.




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

KidsKids
Kids

Jacob, Ellie and Ben have established a great relationship with Ike. He loves them as much as they love him
Fontainebleau State ParkFontainebleau State Park
Fontainebleau State Park

The park is located on Lake Pontchartrain. Here is the view looking toward the Causeway over to New Orleans; the longest bridge in the World.
Fontainebleau State ParkFontainebleau State Park
Fontainebleau State Park

Lots of beautiful old oak trees throughout the park loaded of course with Spanish moss.
Fontainebleau State ParkFontainebleau State Park
Fontainebleau State Park

Prior to Hurricane Katrina there was a big swimming pool in the park. Katrina destroyed it and the bath house. This water fountain park is right behind the old bath house
Fontainebleau State ParkFontainebleau State Park
Fontainebleau State Park

Taken from the jetty looking back toward the fountain and bath house.
Bernard de MarignyBernard de Marigny
Bernard de Marigny

Self Explanitory
HalloweenHalloween
Halloween

The Latiolais Family get ready to Trick or Treat
Latiolais Lake HouseLatiolais Lake House
Latiolais Lake House

Bobby's parents have recently completed their beautiful "dream home" on a lake in Mississippi. We all enjoyed Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner with the family there. This picture was taken from their big screened back porch
Lake HouseLake House
Lake House

This must be Christmas


29th December 2009

I fine job of photography and keeping us up to snuff on your wanderings Lyn. Thanks for the Christmas greetings and hope you have many more trips around the USA and Canada. Al
30th December 2009

Just Hello
Hi Lyn, Your pics are wonderful. Hope you had a great Christmas. Ike looks lovely. Will be in touch in the New Year Sue x
31st December 2009

new year
hi lyn,i am desparately trying to reply to yourtl blog on a tiny 7inch screen notebook. the photos look amazing and allyour family so gorgeous. it really does sound as ifyou havehad a lovely xmas and i do so hope a very very happy new year..sorry aout the words not being absolutely correct but you do need
31st December 2009

happy new year
hi lyn majic pictures of your family. hope you have a wonderful yeaar travelling and who knwos we mightmeet up this year as i am finishing work end of march. a very very happy new y eat to you and yours especially ike anne and russell xxxxx

Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 76; dbt: 0.1028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb