Lake Charles, Louisiana--- Day 11 of 80


Advertisement
Published: June 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Seguin TX restaurantSeguin TX restaurantSeguin TX restaurant

Bob, can you tell I'm in the SOUTH?????? Read the green labels closely!
We left our wonderful lake house in Seguin, TX today and it was hard not to cry as the people and community of Seguin were so special and touching and it was such a memorable place. It was 76 degrees when we left mid morning and after 3 hours we crossed the Sabine River into Louisiana and then into Sulphur, LA at 3:15 p.m. Our hosts picked us up right way for a tour of the Lakes and parks and then took us to Steamboat Bills for crawfish pistolette, stuffed shrimp and crab, catfish and slaw. It was the packed local joint and very good. I had to go to several places after dinner to find a place to sell me some wine or anything for a cocktail on a Sunday evening---the grocery stores had shelves of liquor but would not sell it to me---I laughed and then the locals told me to drive 3 miles out of town so I followed them to a big red barn that was literally a drive-thru liquor store----so I bought some Absolut to mix w/ juice at the hotel spa---geeeeezzzzzz, the one time I really have a sore back and want a cocktail and
This says it all!This says it all!This says it all!

Seguin sign!
cannot find one.
But it was cool, on the way here from TX you could not sling a dead rat w/out hitting a gun shop or a church---my kind of place! So sorry to see TX in my rear view mirror!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

LiftLift
Lift

This cool contraption lifted our luggage up to the top story of our lake house on Lake Placid in Seguin, TX----probably could not get insurance in CA for this!!
Louisiana EatsLouisiana Eats
Louisiana Eats

Crawfish and goodies!
Drive thru LiquorDrive thru Liquor
Drive thru Liquor

No problem going to a drive thru liquor store but heaven forbid you try to buy wine at a grocery store!!


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb