Bryan , Texas to Kisatchie National Forest, Louisiana


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana » DeRidder
May 10th 2011
Published: May 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

May 10, 2011 Tuesday
Bryan, Texas to Kisatchie National Forest, Louisiana
Loaded up and left at 1130. Headed for Louisiana. As I wanted to get to Natchez and start up the Natchez trace driving out of Texas was just something I wanted to get done. At Huntsville I stopped and filled up my tank and was appalled to find out it was $4.23 a gallon. But I can't walk on this trip so guess I just have to pay it.
Not much to say about this leg of the trip. Just a lot of driving through "piney woods". When I got to DeRidder Louisiana I stopped and got some Popeye's Chicken and some groceries at Wal Mart. Then headed North on Hwy 171 about 13 miles till it met La 10 where I headed East on La 10 for what was shown as the Scenic Route on the map.......just more piney woods.
When I came to La 399 I took it to the "T" where I went Left a couple of miles to the Park.
It was quite a nice park, clean and with clean restrooms and shared water. And I was the only one there so in I had my
Exit off La 10Exit off La 10Exit off La 10

To get to Fullerton Lake Campground you exit off La 10 onto La 399.
own private park with a lake for the night. The price was right as well at only $5.00 a night.




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The "T"The "T"
The "T"

Turn left at the 'T"
Marking my spotMarking my spot
Marking my spot

I pick out a good spot and the leave a few things there to mark the spot as taken while I go to put the payment envelope in the post. I have found an Office Depot reusable bag with some low value items works well.
My campsiteMy campsite
My campsite

I had a nice campsite with a picnic table for $5.00 a night.
Don't molest the alligatorsDon't molest the alligators
Don't molest the alligators

The sign says don't feed or molest the alligators. OK.


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb